Best Library and Internet Resources for finding bioengineering information. Also includes information about library services, basic library skills and tools that help with citation management, poster design and writing.
Personal interests, work styles, and values that fit best
Wages and employment trends
Sources of additional information
Professional Associations Most professional association provide career information but in some cases those sections of the website may be restricted to members only. The main biomedical engineering socieities in the US are:
You can create your own medical device market report by using the databases listed below. . Besides giving you a good foundation in what the medical devices industry is all about, the information you find here will help you in your job search to decide what companies are the best and giving you information that you can use in your cover letters, resumes and in interviews.
ABI/Inform: Data & Reports Search Once in the database, choose the "Data & Report" Search from the list of options near the top of the screen. Put the name of the specific product or a product group in the search box and then select the types of company or market reports you want to see.
Business Insights: Global - Industries Search The list of industries may take a minute or more to load. Once it's completed, you may browse the list (over 1,000 entries) or use the search box in the left-hand column to search by keyword or NAICS code.
First Research After clicking on a few links to get past the introductory screens, you'll land on the "Search Industry and Geographic Profiles" page in which you may enter a keyword or NAICS code for the industry in the search box OR you can click on the browse button underneath the search box and browse by either subject menus or an alphabetical list. First Research entries can also be found within the ABI/Inform database.
Manufacturing and Distribution USA Select the 2013 edition to work with. Once that edition opens, you can use the search box in the left-hand column to search by keywords or NAICS code; below the search box check the option "all volumes within this edition."
Once in the database, click on the blue "Report Search" tab near the top of the screen. On the next screen select the "Industry Reports" link just below the blue bar. Select the appropriate industry group and click the gray "Search" button to the right side of the screen. You'll retrieve a list of reports on that industry for the past several years. For each entry in the list, the full report (in PDF) is listed in the far right-hand column while a short overview of key points can be seen by click on the "view' link in the second column from the right.
S&P: NetAdvantage Once in the database, click on the "Industries" link in the dark blue navigation bar. Select the appropriate industry and click on either the html or the pdf link for the report.
Identifying the Organizations and People Working in Your Area
Who are the major medical device companies and who is doing the research? There are several ways to find this information:
The resources you used to find the industry profiles and market reports provided you with the names of some companies operating within that industry.
You can also find lists of companies by industry in business directory databases such as:
You can also determine what companies, organizations, agencies and universities are working in very specific areas( and the names of the specific individuals) by researching the literature. You'll find that mostly academic institutions and non-profit organizations are the ones writing about their discoveries. For obvious competitive reasons, for-profit companies don't publish their research.
In the following databases, you'll do a search on a specific topic of interest to you, and then have the database analyze the results by the author and/or organization doing the research.
Compendex/Inspec Compendex is an index to engineering journal articles and published conference proceedings in all areas including manufacturing; Inspec is an index to the electrical engineering, computing sciences, and physics literature. This link will load both indexes so that you may search them both at once however you do have the option to only search one index at a time.
Search the phrase "biomedical equipment" or a specific device (example: biosensor, stent). On the results list page, go to the left hand column, use the Year limiter to restrict the results to recent years; then go to the "Author" and "Author Affiliation" categories and expand them. This will give you a list of the people and organizations that occur the most in the results.
IEEE Xplore IEEE Xplore is an index to the publications (books, journal articles, conference papers and standards) of the IEEE and IET; it also includes publications from selected other societies in the areas of physics and engineering.
Search the phrase "biomedical equipment" or a specific device (example: biosensor, stent). On the results page, go to the left hand column, use the Publication Year limiter to restrict the results to recent years; then go to the "Author" and "Affiliation" categories and expand them. This will give you a list of the people and organizations that occur the most in the results.
You can identify what for-profit companies are working on by looking for news items announcing product innovations and searching for who is patenting inventions of medical devices.
ABI/Inform ABI/Inform is an index to the business literature including trade journals and news sources that cover the business aspects of medical devices, so this is a good place to find new product announcements and news-type information about medical, pharmaceutical and engineering companies. Search the phrases "medical equipment", "medical devices", or a specific device (example: biosensor, stent).
On the results list page, go to the right hand column, use the publication date feature to restrict the results to recent years; then click to expand the "Company/Organization" category; click on "more options" to see the full list. This will give you a list of the companies that are mentioned the most in the list; unfortunately, the list could include news sources such as CNN that you'll need to ignore. The reasons a company is mentioned could be for good reasons (release of a new product, better than predicted earnings, etc.) or not-so-good reasons (product defects or side-effects, bankruptcy, etc.). To see what is being written about the company, click on the "Include" box next to the company name and then click the "apply" button at the bottom of the company list.
The US Patent and Trademark Office does a yearly assessment of the top 50 organizations receiving US patent grants in each major technology area. See Report Breakouts by Patented Technology and select the report for Patenting in Technology Classes - Breakout By Organization. Information is arranged by the US Patent Classification - most medical devices will fall within the categories of 128, 601, 602, 604, 606, 607 and 623. For each technology category, click on the category title to see the list of ranked organizations.
If you've been watching videos, reading books or attending sessions at the Engineering Career Center, you'll have heard the advice to "research the company" before you go in for an interview. Obviously, you can look at the company's website to get some idea of it's mission and products/services and in some cases, get a copy of their latest annual report. In this section, you'll learn how to find out very specific information about the company's adminsitration, productivity and finances.
Great source in which to start your research. Simply search your company name for detailed fact sheets with company descriptions, key financials, executive biographies, the competitive landscape, news and more.
How to create outstanding, get-the-job resumes. In addition to sample resumes, this book describes the skills and attributes that employers find valuable in the workplace and shows new graduates how to demonstrate them in writing.
Find the resume format that will work wonders for you, one that can showcase your unique background, situation and career goals and help you land your dream job. It features resumes tailored to the individual situations, challenges, and aspirations of today's job seekers.
The ground rules for preparing a CV; shows how to select which details go in and which stay out, how to lay out and present a CV and how to make a great first impression. Includes sample CVs for a wide variety of jobs: practical, creative, administrative, sales and marketing, technical and management, with online template CVs and covering letters ready for you to download and customise.
This book will help you answer the questions that face today's job seeker. The author examines the potential pitfalls across a range of common job-hunting situations and shows how to put together a CV that will make the most of your skills and experience, make an impression and secure that all-important job interview.
Identifies and delineates a methodology for effectively positioning and/or repositioning oneself in today's global job market that moves significantly beyond strategies associated with simply developing a resume, cover letter or business plan.
What is it like to be a researcher or a scientist? In this book, Ling and Yang answer these questions in a step-by-step manner with specific and concrete examples from their first-hand experience. Includes chapters on the goals of research, finding new ideas, conducting solid research, writing, defending, publishing, and life after the Ph.D.
Designed to unravel some of the mystery around graduate school programs in science and engineering, this one-stop resource reinforces strategies for succeeding. Qualitative interviews offer first-hand stories and tips from women who have found success in academia, industry, and the public sector. Each chapter covers a different aspect of graduate school, from identifying funding sources, to writing the dissertation, to looking for a job.
The experience of an untenured faculty member is highly dependent on the quality of the mentoring they receive. This work provides a guide to the mentoring process for untenured faculty and will help facilitate the mentoring process and lead junior faculty to a path where they can truly thrive in their position.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.