Technical Reports are documentation resulting from funded research (which is why they are sometimes called research reports). Seldom commercially published and having limited distribution makes the report literature difficult both to identify and locate. The following resources provide either the full text of reports or provide a means of identifying what reports existed at some point.
- National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
The over 3 million items in the NTRL database are the results of federally funded research; many of the reports identified have the full text available within the database. For those items without full text, check the following locations/databases where the full text might be freely available on the web:
- Issuing Agency's website
- FDsys (U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO))
- Use Google or other web search engine
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance.
- SciTech Connect
SciTech Connect includes technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, software, and data information sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) through a grant, contract, cooperative agreement, or similar type of funding mechanism from the 1940s to today. An online tutorial about using the browse feature is available.
- Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL)
This project identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports.
Find U.S. documents and information by agency and/or topic. USA.gov searches across all federal, state, local, tribal, and territorial government websites.
- Open Grey
Index to over 700,000 items of gray literature produced in Europe in the areas of science, technology, biomedicine, economics, social sciences and humanities. The full text of the documents are not in the database, rather the database will tell you where to find it.
- World Wide Science
This database permits a single query to search multiple scientific sources around the world. The query is translated into the appropriate language for each source. The search results are displayed in relevance order in the language of the original query. For each entry a link is provided to the original site for the document where the searcher will find more information about the document, and in some cases, the full text of the document. Ten languages are currently supported: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.
Contents varies depending on the source providing the information but gray literature such as technical reports and government publications are common.