20th & 21st Century Wars: Research Databases (ASU Library)
ASU Library Catalog Searches
World War, 1914-1918 AND Sources
Sino-Japanese War, 1937-1945 AND Sources
World War, 1939-1945 AND Sources
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) AND Sources
Korean War, 1950-1953 AND Sources
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 AND Sources
Persian Gulf War, 1991 AND Sources
Afghan War, 2001-2021 AND Sources
Research Databases (ASU Library)
The following are a list of the ASU Library's most relevant resources from our A-Z Datbases module for the identification of primary source material.
- Database Type = Primary Sources: 53 Results
- Subject = History and Database Type = Primary Sources: 27 Results
Recommended Titles
Digital National Security Archive
Digital Public Library of America
- Primary Source Sets
- The Emergence of Modern America (1890-1930)
- The Great Depression and World War II (1929-1945)
- Postwar United States (1945 to early 1970s)
- Contemporary United States (1968 to the present)
The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2015
Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980: Sections I-III
Iskusstvo Kino Digital Archive (DA-IK)
Krasnyi Arkhiv Digital Archive (DA-KAR) (1922-1941)
Literaturnaia gazeta Digital Archive (1929-2016)
Macmillan Cabinet Papers Online
The Moscow News Digital Archive
PAO- Periodicals Archive Online (Collections 1-7)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers
Comprised of: Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Cleveland Call and Post, Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribue, Pittsburgh Courier and The Baltimore Afro-American.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1985- )
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant (1764-1996)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times (1881-1997)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Arizona Republican (1890-1922)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian and The Observer
The Guardian (1821- 2003); The Observer (1791-2003).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2018)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post (1877-2005)
Reader's Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Russia/NIS Statistical Publications
Russian Social Sciences and Humanities Journals
Shen Bao Digital Archive (1872-1949)
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974
The Sunday Times Digital Archive (1822-2016)
The Times Digital Archive (1785-2014)
U.S. Declassified Documents Online
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
