Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

HST/REL111: Introduction to Asia: Indexes & Databases

Journal Articles & More (ASU ID/Password required)

  • PAIS Index: PAIS (originally, the Public Affairs Information Service) is a combination of two databases: PAIS International and PAIS Archive. The PAIS International database contains records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS Archive is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976 and contains over 1.23 million records covering monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics. This database covers the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics published in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages.
  • Historical Abstracts with Full Text: Covers the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present with indexing to historical articles from more than 1800 journals in over 40 languages published since 1955. Citations to books, dissertations and theses are included plus the full text of more than 349 journals and more than 120 books. The related disciplines of archeology, anthropology and sociology are also covered.
  • JSTOR: Subjects covered include Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and more.

  • ATLA Religion Database + ATLAS: A comprehensive database that includes articles from hundreds of journals and magazines and covers world religions, Biblical Studies, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Includes citations and full-text of articles, essays, books, conference proceedings, and book reviews. (Coverage: 1949+)

  • Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO): Comprehensive full-text source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers, journal articles; policy briefs and economic indicators; links and resources; maps and country data from university research institutes.

  • Empire Online: This database brings together approximately 70,000 images of original manuscripts and printed documents on colonial history, politics, culture and society from libraries and archives around the world. Topics range from early European exploration to 21st century imperialism. It is divided into five sections covering varying aspects of the colonial experience: Section I: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969, Section II: Literature and Empire, Section III: The Visible Empire, Section IV: Religion and Empire, Section V: Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism, c.1607-2007 (Coverage: 1492+)

  • AM Scholar Area Studies: China and Southeast Asia：A varied array of records of traders, travelers, missionaries, and diplomats, from the mid-seventeenth century to the late twentieth century, offers Western perspectives on all aspects of Chinese culture and society. The collection includes China Through Western Eyes, China Inland Mission 1865-1951, and Asian Economic History. (Coverage: 1400 - 20th century)
  • AM Scholar Area Studies: Japan: A collection of digitized primary sourced documents, by writers, diplomats, tourists, businessmen, missionaries, and others, documenting the political, cultural, and social history of Japan from 1400 to the 20th century. The collection includes Japan through Western Eyes, East Meets West, The Anglo-Japanese Gazette, and The Eastern World. (Coverage: 1400 - 20th century)

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.