HST/REL111: Introduction to Asia: eBooks and Newspapers
eBook Collections and Reference Series
All e-books can be searched via Find ebooks. The E-book Collections page is an alphabetical listing of all individual “research databases.”
- ACLS Humanities Ebook Project: The ACLS Humanities E-Book Project is a collaboration of eight learned societies, nearly 75 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan's Scholarly Publishing Office. The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in history, recommended and reviewed by historians.
-
Cambridge Histories Online: Cambridge Histories Online provides full-text online access to volumes of the Cambridge Histories reference series. It includes political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects. This resource is particularly useful for providing in-depth historical context. (Coverage: Works published through 2016)
- e-Books on EBSCOhost: Includes a wide range of scholarly, reference, and professional titles.
- ProQuest Ebook Central: Subjects covered include business & economy, education, health, government & law, society & culture, and so on.
- Oxford Scholarship Online: Oxford Scholarship Online contains e-books in the areas of classics, economics and finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, philosophy, political science, psychology, and religion.
- Project MUSE - Premium Collection: Provides a growing collection of full-text content in the fields of cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
News
International News Databases:
- Access World News: Provides full-text information and perspectives from several thousand U.S. and international newspapers and newswire sources,
- Access Newspaper Archive Database: One of the world's largest online newspaper archives.
- Global Newsstream: Provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
- Nexis Uni: Provides full text of selected newspapers worldwide, trade publications, legal periodicals, and legal scholarly journals.
- World News Archive: It is compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, focusing especially on local media sources. It covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. It includes translations and English language versions from newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. (Coverage: November 1995 – December 31, 2013)
-
South Asian Newspapers: A collection of nineteenth and twentieth-century South Asian newspapers, featuring titles from Madras Mail, one of the highest circulating English newspapers in southern India. The collection also includes Amrita Bazar Patrika, The Leader, Tribune, the Ceylon Observer. (Coverage: 19th and 20th centuries)
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
