HST/REL111: Introduction to Asia: Citing Your Sources & Citation Managers
Citation Management Tools
What are citation managers and generators?
Citation managers save and organize your references more efficiently, especially for longer projects. Use a citation manager to automatically create citations or lists of references (bibliographies) in different citation styles, insert citations into your paper, share your research, and collaborate in groups. You should always check all citation elements for missing or erroneous parts.
ASU Library supports three citation managers:
By contrast, citation generators create or generate individual citations in a specific style such as APA for immediate use.
- ASU Library Citation Manager GuideGuide that details information on how to use all three of the supported citation managers, Zotero, Mendeley, & Endnote.
- PubMed & CINAHL to Zotero Step by Step InstructionsStep by Step visual and text instructions on how to get references from PubMed & CINAHL into Zotero
- Zotero Brief Setup & Text InstructionsText instructions on setting up your Zotero account, geting references from PubMed & CINAHL into Zotero, and creating bibliographies.
APA (American Psychological Association) Style
- ASU Library APA Citation TutorialLearn about why citing is important and about APA citation style formatting.
- Exclesior Owl APAGreat resource for APA style and examples. Look at the links on the left to see and overview and examples related to in-text citations and reference lists.
- ASU Library APA Citation Styles GuideIncludes resources related to APA style as well as example citations found on the subheadings.
- APA Style SiteThe official word from the APA. On the APA blog they answer more obscure and specific questions.
AMA (American Medical Association) Style
- AMA Journal Abbreviation Look UpLook up the correct abbreviation to use for your specific journal in AMA style.
- AMA 10th Edition - Citation Style Tip SheetBrief guide based on the 10th edition of the AMA Style Guide.
MLA (Modern Language Association) Style
Citation styles change over time; the advent of the Internet and the increasing number at material types (e.g. web pages, e-journals etc.) have contributed to some of these changes. When using a specific citation style be sure to use a resource (e.g. style manual or website) that reflects the current edition.
MLA Handbook by
Teaching and learning MLA style is about to get easier. For nearly seventy years, the Modern Language Association has helped student writers choose trustworthy sources and use them to support their own ideas. Now, the authority on writing and research presents the clearest approach to MLA style yet with the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook. The ninth edition works as both a textbook and a reference guide. Focusing on source evaluation, it features a wealth of visual examples and updated advice on punctuation and grammar, footnotes and endnotes, annotated bibliographies, and paper formatting. An all-in-one resource that makes MLA style easier to learn and use, the MLA Handbook includes - Expanded, in-depth guidance on creating works-cited-list entries using the MLA template of core elements that explains what each core element is, where to find it in various sources, and how to style it - A new, easy-to-follow explanation of in-text citations - A new chapter containing recommendations for using inclusive language - A new appendix with hundreds of sample works-cited-list entries by publication format, including books, databases, websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more - Updated guidelines on avoiding plagiarism Although there are numerous websites, apps, reference works, and cheat sheets that claim to help with MLA style, there's only one truly authoritative resource to help your students on their paths to becoming better writers. The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is the most comprehensive guide the MLA has ever produced, with an all-inclusive approach to writing, research, documentation, and formatting.
Call number: LB2369 .M52 2021ISBN: 9781603295611Publication date: 2021-06-30
Print copies of the most current edition — the 9th edition — are available in the following ASU Library locations:
| Design Reference | Downtown Reference |
| Hayden Reference | Music Reference |
| Polytechnic Reference | Noble Reference |
| West (Fletcher) Reference | High Density Storage Collection |
To locate additional editions or unofficial style guides not published by the MLA, search the ASU Library's Catalog using a keyword search 'MLA Style'. Be careful to select a title discussing the most current edition of MLA Style.
Print copies of the previous edition — the 8th edition — are available in the following ASU Library locations:
| Downtown Reserve | Hayden Stacks |
| Law Reference | Polytechnic Reference |
| Thunderbird Reference | Thunderbird Stacks |
| West (Fletcher) Reference |
To locate additional editions or unofficial style guides not published by the MLA, search the ASU Library's Catalog using a keyword search 'MLA Style'. Be careful to select a title discussing the most current edition of MLA Style.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
