CIA World FactbookThe World Factbookprovides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Country Studies( Library of Congress) Presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Provides data and forecasts about political, economic, and business climates of various regions and up to 200 countries as well as related news, analysis, and risk factor assessments. Includes the online version of the Country Report series, the Country Profile series, Country Commerce, Country Finance, the Business Briefings series, the Economist, Global Outlook, and selected Country Forecast series.
Political Handbook of the World Political Handbook of the World provides thorough and accurate information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system. As a convenient, one-volume print source for global political information, each edition features country profiles that include:
Key facts:Political status, area, population, major urban centers, official language, monetary unit, heads of government, heads of state, ambassadors, and U.S. and U.N. representation.
Government and political history: Historical trends, regime changes, constitutional history, and regional and global policy issues of concern.
Current Issues: Headline-making events, trends, controversies, and challenges.
Political parties and organizations: Leading and minor parties, quasi-partisan and extra-systemic organizations, alliances, party histories, ideology, and leadership.
Legislatures and cabinets: Recent national election results, legislative leaders, cabinet ministers.
Communications: Names, circulation, and political affiliation of major national media; news agencies; television coverage and Internet usage.
Proquest Statistical Insight Indexes statistical information produced by the U.S. government, state governments, & selected private organizations.
Source OECD Studies (1988+) Provides access to the OECD and IEA statistical databases, journals, monographs, annual reports, working papers and reference documents produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Statistical data can be downloaded for use in spreadsheets.
World Development Indicators Online(WDI) Data source on the global economy. Contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data since 1960 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.