Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Global Studies

Opinion Articles in Newspapers and Magazines

Access World News (1977+): Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.

Alt-PressWatch (1970+): Covers selected independent newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative press. Provides an alternative to mainstream media perspectives on local, national, and international issues.

Ethnic NewsWatch (1960+): Full-text of ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines and journals. Provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Represents the diversity of the American population in ways that are not seen in the mainstream media.

Lexis-Nexis Academic: Full text of 5,000+ newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and professional journals. Includes company directories/ financial; Hoover reports; quotations; almanac; federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions; Public Opinion Polls. See LexisNexis Topic Guide.

OnlineNewspapers.com  This is a free commercial site that does provide access to websites of current-run newspapers throughout the World.  Proves a back-up option to Access World News.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: A full-text database providing differing points of view on current social issues.

ProQuest Selectable Full Text Newspapers: Los Angeles Times    Full text of the Los Angeles Times, Jan 1, 1985 - current.

Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982): Indexes articles from the most popular general-interest magazines published in the U.S. & Canada.

Wall Street Journal  (1986+) Full text access to the Wall Street Journal. The Wall Street Journal is the financial newspaper of record. It offers in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news.

 

 

International Resources

African Newspapers: A collection on nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers. Featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe. The Center for Research Libraries.

Latin American Newsletters: The collection includes approximately 35 fully searchable historical Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th century in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela. The Center for Research Libraries.

South Asian Newspapers: A collection of nineteenth and twentieth-century South Asian newspapers, featuring titles from Madras Mail, one of the highest circulating English newspapers in southern India. The collection also includes Amrita Bazar Patrika, The Leader, Tribune, the Ceylon Observer.

Subjects: Social Sciences

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.