Login to LibApps


Global Studies: Article Indexes

Global Issues: Research Databases

 

ABI/INFORM Complete:  ABI/INFORM Complete™ is a comprehensive business database of articles from thousands of English-language publications worldwide covering business, management, and related areas. 1923+

Chatham House Online Archive, 1920 - 2008 Chatham House Online Archive contains the publications and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House), the independent international affairs policy institute founded in 1920 following the Paris Peace Conference. Publications include the Institute's analysis and research, as well as reports, papers, books, debates and speeches hosted at Chatham House. This online archive is subject-indexed and fully searchable.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO): Comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers; policy briefs and economic indicators; links and resources; maps and country data from university research institutes,occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.

Communication and Mass Media Complete  This selected full-text database* is a principle research and reference source in the fields of communication, journalism, and mass media. To a lesser degree the database covers advertising and related topics.   1915+

Economist Intelligence UnitProvides data and forecasts about political, economic, and business climates of various regions and up to 200countries as well as related news, analysis, and risk factor assessments.  News and analysis includes 1996 +, statistical data includes 1980 +, and forecasts start from thepresent and extend up to 5 years into the future.

Empire Online: Provides about 70,000 images of original manuscripts and printed documents on colonial history, politics, culture and society from libraries and archives around the world.

Environment Complete  Environment Complete™ offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. This database includes over 2 million records from domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s.

PAIS: Index to political, economic, & social issues in current debate. Covers public & social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations,public administration, government, political science, & other social sciences.

OCED iLibrary: Provides access to the full text of selected studies produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.

Political Reference Suite: Resources on a wide array of topics largely pertaining to U.S. political, judicial, governmental, historical, and policy research interests. Note the section POLITICAL HANDBOOK OF THE WORLD.

Proquest Statistical Insight  ProQuest Statistical Insight provides abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed sources. It Includes indexes of statistical information produced by the state governments & selected private organizations. Sources Covered: Statistical Reference Index (SRI), Index to International Statistics (IIS) and American Statistics Index (ASI) -- covering associations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state governments, university research centers, international non-governmental organizations and international intergovernmental organizations. 1971+

SocIndex with Full Text:  SocINDEX™ with Full Text is a social sciences research database, covering a wide spectrum of disciplines. It offers in-depth coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Sociological Abstracts:  Covers theoretical & applied sociology, social science, & policy science. Includes sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, urban studies, etc.

Women's Studies International: Indexes women's studies materials from around the world. Covers political, economic, social & cultural issues, including political science, sociology, business, history, education, etc.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts: Bibliographic informationand research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.No full-text access.


Area Studies Databases

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies    (ABSEES)
(1990+) Indexes journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union published in the United States and Canada.

Bibliography of Asian Studies: Covers western-language materials in the field of Asian Studies.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index, 1970+  Indexes worldwide information on Central & South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.- Mexico border region, &Hispanics in the Unite States. Covers analyses of current political, economic & social issues, & Latin American arts & letters.

Index Islamicus: Covers literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world.

Index to Jewish Periodicals: Covers Jewish history,activity and thought. English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs.

PRISMA: Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas    This is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin.

General Article Indexes

Academic Search Premier: Covers a wide range of academic subjects. Features full text for selected journals, abstracts and indexing for over 3,600 scholarly journals.

Directory of Open Access Journals

Nexis Uni Full text of selected newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and scholarly journals. Includes company directories/financials; Hoover reports; quotes; almanac; federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions; accounting statements/guidelines; & news transcripts.  Here are  ASU Law Library Tutorials on Finding Legal Articles Using Nexis Uni and    Finding Cases Using Nexis Uni

JSTOR: Includes long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals of Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, History, Political Science, Population Studies, and Sociology.

Humanities Full-Text (1984+): Indexes articles in the fields of Archaeology and Classical Studies, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Communications, Language, Literature, Literary and Political Criticism, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion, etc.

Project Muse: Provides access to the full text of scholarly journal in the the fields of literature and criticism,history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.


Retrospective Research

Humanities and Social Science Retrospective (1907-1984): provides citations to articles in a wide range of English language journals in the humanities and social sciences.

PAO- Periodicals Archive Online (1770-1995): Covers hundreds of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. Only indexes articles that are available in full text.

Periodicals Index Online (1700-1995): Covers thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences
.

Hours and Locations