Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Social and Behavioral Sciences

Use this guide to navigate your way through the world of information in the interdisciplinary social and behavioral sciences.

Websites

Participedia
Participedia is a tool for strengthening democracy. Based on a wiki platform, its main content consists of user-generated articles which describe and assess participatory governance throughout the world.

E-Reference

Gale Virtual Reference
A searchable collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Sage E-Reference
An online collection of reference titles from Sage Publications. Users may search across all titles, or browse by subject.

News Articles

Nexis Uni
Full text of over 5,000 newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, professional journals and news transcripts.

Arizona News
 Includes full text of articles, editorials, notices, and obituaries from the Arizona Republic.

AltPress Watch
(1970+) Full text database of selected independent newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative press. Provides an alternative to mainstream media perspectives on local, national, and international issues.

Access World News
 Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.

NewsBank Newsfile
(1991+) Provides fulltext access to selected articles from over 500 U. S. and Canadian newspapers, wire services, and broadcast news transcripts.

Google News
Use this service to set up an alert to receive e-mails with links to news articles on your topic.

Research Databases

General    Political Science    Law     Related Disciplines    News

General and Multi-Disciplinary

 


Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost)
(1975+) Covers a wide range of academic subjects including criminal justice. Features full text for selected journals, abstracts and indexing for over 3,600 scholarly journals, and coverage of The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times and The Christian Science Monitor.

Google Scholar
Search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

SAGE Premier
Includes journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine, providing online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. Specifically social sciences journals in the following areas are available: urban studies; political sciences, criminology; communication; sociology and psychology.

Political Science Databases


Political Science: A Sage Full Text Collection
Includes the full-text of 25 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Covers such subjects as General Political Science, American Government & Politics, Political Sociology, Comparative Politics, Policy Studies, Political Communication, Peace / Conflict Studies,Presidential Studies, Political Theory / Philosophy, International Relations, and Area Studies.

PAIS International - Public Affairs Information Service
(1972+) Index to political, economic, & social issues in current debate. Covers public & social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations,public administration, government, political science, & other social sciences.

Worldwide Political Sciences Abstracts 
Provides Information and research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy

Law Journal and Legal News Databases

Hein Online: Modern Link to Legal History
Includes collection of legal periodicals.

Nexis Uni
Full text of selected newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and legal scholarly journals. Includes company directories, financial reports, quotations, almanac, federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions, accounting statements/guidelines, & news transcripts.

Lexis Nexis State Capitol
LexisNexis State Capital is an online service providing access to state government information. It includes legislative information (status of bills, full text of bills, legislative calendars), state statutes, full text of state regulations, information about state legislators and their staffs, and news sources for information on state issues for all 50 states.
 

Related Disciplines


SOCindex
SocINDEX™ with Full Text is a social sciences research database, covering a wide spectrum of disciplines. It offers in-depth coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Criminal Justice Abstracts
(1968+) Covers major journals in criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. Includes informative summary of the findings, methodology, and conclusions is provided.

Sociological Abstracts
(1963+) Covers theoretical & applied sociology, social science, & policy science. Includes sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, urban studies, etc.

Subjects: Social Sciences

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.