Login to LibApps

Social and Behavioral Sciences: Articles

Use this guide to navigate your way through the world of information in the interdisciplinary social and behavioral sciences.

List of other Library Research Databases

Citation Searching - Google Scholar

Find out who has cited key articles in your field


Google Scholar - Searches for scholarly papers in all subject areas, very useful for finding where articles are being cited.

Start Here

Places to Begin Looking for Social Science Articles

Google Scholar

Indexing for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a widevariety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Sage Premier
Includes journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine, providing online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals.  

SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)
SocINDEX™ with Full Text is a social sciences research database, covering a wide spectrum of disciplines. It offers in-depth coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Academic Search Premier  (EBSCO) 
This is a great starting place for any topic. It covers all subject areas, includes articles from both popular magazines and scholarly journals, and has lots of full text.

TUTORIAL: Finding Articles using Academic Search Premier/Ebscohost

Social Sciences Databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts  (EBSCO)
(1968+) Covers major journals in criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. Includes informative summary of the findings, methodology, and conclusions is provided.

(1976+) includes the full-text of 23 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence.

(1887+) Includes PsycLIT. Indexes literature in psychology & related disciplines (sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, & anthropology). Covers journals, books, chapters, dissertations & technical reports.

PsycArticles (PROQUEST)
Contains full-text of articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database can also be searched for articles of interest by browsing directly through the journal titles and then clicking to the tables of contents for the respective volumes and issues.

Sociological Abstracts (PROQUEST)
(1963+) Covers theoretical & applied sociology, social science, & policy science. Includes sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, urban studies, etc.

Women's Studies International (EBSCO)
Indexes women's studies materials from around the world. Covers political, economic, social & cultural issues, including political science, sociology, business, history, education, etc.

Worldwide Political Sciences Abstracts (PROQUEST)
Provides Information and research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.


Dennis Isbell's picture
Dennis Isbell

Hours and Locations