Login to LibApps


Asian Studies: Japanese Language Resources

Find Books and Articles


Search Japanese Books

WorldCat

Search Japanese books and check holdings by libraries in North America. 

NDL Search

Search materials held by National Diet Library 国立国会図書館 and other libraries in Japan. This includes an index to journal articles in Japan and links to some digitized resources.

CiNii Books

Search books and other material held by Japanese universities. Its intelligent search interface offers automatic suggestions of related items based on your search criteria.

Aozora Bunko

Electronic full-text of copyright-free or expired books in Japan. A majority of them are literary works.

Search Japanese Articles

NDL Search

Search materials held by National Diet Library 国立国会図書館 and other libraries in Japan. This includes an index to journal articles in Japan and links to some digitized resources.

CiNii Articles

Search scholarly articles (some are available full-text).

Electronic Resources


Dictionaries, Encyclopedia, etc.

JapanKnowledge (ASU faculty, students, staff only)

Reference database collection including dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. Also includes other electronic contents such as:

    • 新編日本古典文学全集: Link located at "叢書 URL" section under "OneLook コンテンツ"
    • 東洋文庫: Link located at "叢書 URL" section under "OneLook コンテンツ"
Tutorial (YouTube)
Quick Guide (pdf)

Digital Libraries of Japanese Books

Digital Library from the Meiji Era 近代デジタルライブラリー

Digitized books published in Meiji, Taisho, early-Showa period held by the National Diet Library.

Further Research Information

Other Subject Guides for Japanese Studies

Subject Guides Portal (North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources)

Using Libraries, Museums, and Archives in Japan

Research Access in Japanese Museums, Libraries, and Archives (North American Coordinating Council on Japanese library Resources)

Support for Using Japanese Language Information

Hours and Locations