Login to LibApps


Asian Studies: HST 494 Women and Islam

Images and Videos

Unveiled views [videorecording] (52 minutes) in this revealing documentary five extraordinary women talk about their occupations, aspirations, and the rights and the status of women in their Muslim countries. Hayden Lower Level  HQ 1170 .U58 2009 DVD

Online Resources

Religious Courts: Improving Women's Access to Justice in Indonesia from the Asia Society (Downloadable PDF)

Gender and Women's Participation in Indonesia from the Asia Society (Downloadable PDF)

Women Living Under Muslim Laws is an international solidarity network that provides information, support and a collective space for women whose lives are shaped, conditioned or governed by laws and customs said to derive from Islam.

Journals

Listed below are a few of the journals the library subscribes too. To find other journal titles click on  the Journals tab in the Library One Search or look up the journal title in the ASU Library Catalog.

Library One Search

Library One Search  

Additional "Library One Search" Pages

For convenient access to major library resources consider installing the latest ASU Library Toolbar into your web browser. Our toolbar allows you to easily search Library One Search, the ASU Library Catalog, the content of our LibGuides, proxied Google Scholar and the open-access WorldCat catalog/database.

Searching for Materials in the Library catalog

There are several ways to search the Library's catalog for materials but in this case using the Subject Women in Islam or Muslim Women are the most efficient.

Selected Resources

Submitting to God: women and Islam in urban Malaysia/ Sylva Frisk. Copenhangen: NIAS Press, 2009. Hayden Stacks: BP173.4 .F75 2009

Honour, violence, women and Islam/ edited by Mohammad Mazher Idriss. New York: Routledge, 2010. eBook

Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures

Databases

ASU Library subscribes to over 400 databases. On the Libraries' homepage under Articles you can search for articles, select a specific database or look up an e-Journal by title. Though there are many databases that might be useful I have selected several to get you started in your research.

 

How to Use RefWorks

 RefWorks is a licensed web-based bibliography and database manager, allows users to create their own personal citation/abstract database by importing citations from online databases, the ASU catalog, or text files. Click here for more information on RefWorks. 

ASU Library offers RefWorks sessions (Basic and Advanced). Click here for the schedule.

Hours and Locations