Login to LibApps


Asian Studies: HST 495: Colonialism and Nationalism

Images and Videos

The Story of India: Freedom (56:00) In this program tells how a foreign multinational, Britain’s East India Company, gradually and almost by chance took power over great swathes of the Indian subcontinent; how after the shock of the 1857 Sepoy Rebellion, the British state assumed total control over the country and transformed it into the Raj

Films on Demand is a collection of films covering many disciplines. The Story of India above is one of those films. You may find more by searching the film database. 

Online Resources

The Digital South Asia Library provides access to reference works, images,statistics, books and journals, and more focusing on South Asia.

Bibliography of Asian Studies from the University of Michigan provides citations for western-language articles and book chapters published on Asia from 1971 to date.

Foreign Relations of the United States, 1946, The British Commonwealth, Western and Central Europe, Volume V

Foreign Relations of the United States  project of the University of Wisconsin Libraries covers pre 1945 State Department documents

Searching for Materials in the Library catalog

There are several ways to search the Library's catalog for materials. When using a Keyword search the most important thing is to devise a search strategy which will find the materials you need for your topic. You might try South Asia and colonalism; another might be British empire and India or India British occupation.

If you decide to use a Subject Search remember a Subject Search is not a Keyword search. Here are a couple of Subject search terms you might use:

  • India--History--British occupation, 1765-1947
  • Great Britain--Colonies--Asia--Administration--History--19th century
  • India--Colonization--History--19th century
  • India 20th Century

Library One Search

Library One Search  

Additional "Library One Search" Pages

For convenient access to major library resources consider installing the latest ASU Library Toolbar into your web browser. Our toolbar allows you to easily search Library One Search, the ASU Library Catalog, the content of our LibGuides, proxied Google Scholar and the open-access WorldCat catalog/database.

Journals and Newspapers

Listed below are a few of the journals  znd newspapers the library subscribes to. To find other journal titles click on  the Journals tab in the Library One Search or look up the journal title in the ASU Library Catalog.

  • Indian Historical Review (1999 to date)
  • South Asian Newspapers is a collection of nineteenth and twentieth-century South Asian newspapers, featuring the Madras Mail, Amrita Bazar Patrika, The Leader, Tribune, The Pioneer and Ceylon Observer.
  • The Hindu (2002 to date) 

Databases

ASU Library subscribes to over 400 databases. On the Libraries' homepage under Articles you can search for articles, select a specific database or look up an e-Journal by title. Though there are many databases that might be useful I have selected several to get you started in your research.

How to Use RefWorks

RefWorks is a licensed web-based bibliography and database manager, allows users to create their own personal citation/abstract database by importing citations from online databases, the ASU catalog, or text files. Click here for more information on RefWorks. 

ASU Library offers RefWorks sessions (Basic and Advanced). Click here for the schedule.

Hours and Locations