Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Asian Studies

Databases

ASU Library subscribes to over 400 databases. Though there are many databases that might be useful I have selected several to get you started in your research.

The library subscribes to the South Asian Newspapers Database a collection fo 19th and 20th century South Asian English newspapers including the Madras Mail, Amrita Bazar Patrika, the Leader, and Tribune.

The library also has the Foreign Office Files for India, Pakstan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 and Independence, Partition and the Nehru Era, 1947-1964 a primary source database. These collections consist of the British Government's files on the countries of South Asia from shortly before Indian partition and independence up to 1980. 

The library has a subscrption to the Center for Research Libraries They collect unique and little-known humanities, science and social science documents. 

The library has several films outlining the life of Gandhi and his legency from our Films on Demand database including:

Also the library has the following DVDs:

  • Gandhi / Columbia Pictures-Sony Pictures Home Entertainment, 2 videodiscs (190 minutes), Hayden Lower Level stacks: PN 1997 .G3145 2007 DVD
  • The salt stories / producted and directed by Lait Vachanie; New Delhi: Wide Eye Film, 2008, 1 videodisc (84 minutes), Hayden Lower Level stacks HC 435.3 .I4 S24 2008 DVD 

How to Use RefWorks

 RefWorks is a licensed web-based bibliography and database manager, allows users to create their own personal citation/abstract database by importing citations from online databases, the ASU catalog, or text files. Clickhere for more information on RefWorks. 

ASU Library offers RefWorks sessions (Basic and Advanced). Click here for the schedule. 

Searching for Materials in the Library catalog

There are several ways to search the Library's catalog for materials but in this case using the Subject Gandhi, Mahatma (1869-1948) is the most efficient.

Here are a few new titles:

Gandhi in the west: the Mahatma and the rise of radical protest/ Sean Scalme. New York :Cambridge University Press, 2011 eBook

The Cambridge companion to Gandhi/ edited by Judith Brown and Anthony Parel. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2011  Hayden stacks at DS 481. G3 C36 2011

Mahatma Gandhi: nonviolent power in action / Dennis Dalton. New York: Columbia University Press, 2012. eBook 

Tutorials and Other Materials

ASU Library has a number of tutorials available. They are usually short (4 minutes or less) and focus on problems you may run into as you research and write your papers. They can be found on the Library's home page under Services for Students or at Tutorials. I selected a few that might be helpful:

If you are having problems citing or you aren't sure which style guide to use link to our Libgude in Citing Styles.

You may also wish to take a look at the Academic Integrity Libguide for a refresher on ASU policies in regards to plagiarism and other academic integrity issues.

Library One Search

Library One Search  

Additional "Library One Search" Pages

For convenient access to major library resources consider installing the latest ASU Library Toolbar into your web browser. Our toolbar allows you to easily search Library One Search, the ASU Library Catalog, the content of our LibGuides, proxied Google Scholar and the open-access WorldCat catalog/database.

Hours and Locations