Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Social Justice and Human Rights

This guide is designed to support students in the Social Justice and Human Rights Master's Degree program. It includes resources for research both local and global issues.

Interactive Maps

Google Earth (requires download)
Google Earth combines the power of Google Search with satellite imagery, maps, terrain and 3D buildings to put the world's geographic information at your fingertips.

Google Maps
This map allows you to look at any level of geography you wish including continents, countries, states and cities.

Globalis
This site provides interactive maps that serve to visualize various United Nations data.

Top Places to Search for Images

AP Digital Photo Archive
Approximately 700,000 current and historic photos drawn largely from the Associated Press database of images. The archive includes contemporary news images, historical figures, celebrities, and images drawn from key events of the 20th century. The earliest photograph available was taken in 1840. Updated daily.

Emporis
Emporis.com is one of the world's largest available platforms concerning building-related information. Here you find buildings, companies and photos in more than 50,000 cities worldwide.

Flickr
This online photo management and sharing software includes millions of photos.

Google Image Search (Advanced)
Currently indexes more than 425 million images. Easy to use. Includes advanced image search.

Panoramio
Look up a city and click on the available images.  This tool interfaces with Google Earth.

Hours and Locations