Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Social Justice and Human Rights

This guide is designed to support students in the Social Justice and Human Rights Master's Degree program. It includes resources for research both local and global issues.

About citation management tools

What are citation managers and generators?

Citation managers save and organize your references more efficiently, especially for longer projects. Use a citation manager to automatically create citations or lists of references (bibliographies) in different citation styles, insert citations into your paper, share your research, and collaborate in groups. You should always check all citation elements for missing or erroneous parts.

ASU Library supports three citation managers: 

By contrast, citation generators create or generate individual citations in a specific style such as MLA or APA for immediate use.  

 

Compare citation managers

  Zotero Mendeley EndNote
Versions One version

Two versions:

  • Mendeley
  • Mendeley Institutional Edition

Three versions:

  • EndNote Online
  • EndNote Web of Science
  • EndNote Desktop
Cost Zotero is free Mendeley is free; Mendeley Institutional Edition is free for ASU users

EndNote Online is free.

EndNote Web of Science is free for ASU users.

EndNote Desktop costs $80 for students and $160 for faculty and staff because of ASU’s discount.

How to Get It

Create an account and then download Zotero

Use an asu.edu email address when you sign in to Mendeley and automatically receive access to the Mendeley Institutional Edition

Sign in for EndNote Online.

Sign in through Web of Science and click the EndNote tab for EndNote Web of Science.

Call 1-215-823-1767 or send an email directly to jim.lyons@clarivate.com and use the discount code LIBRARY for a discounted copy of EndNote Desktop.

Storage Space 300 MB (additional storage can be purchased) 2 GB with Mendeley; 5 GB with Mendeley Institutional Edition

2 GB with EndNote Online and EndNote Web of Science; Unlimited with EndNote Desktop

Citation Styles 9000+ 1700+ 21 with EndNote Online; 3300+ with EndNote Web of Science and EndNote Desktop
Cloud/Desktop Both Both Both
Platform PC, Mac, and Linux PC, Mac, and Linux PC; works for Mac but has some issues; no Linux
Technical Support User community support User community support and limited technical support from Mendeley Professional technical support from Clarivate Analytics for EndNote Desktop
Collaboration References can be shared through public or private group libraries References can be shared through public or private group libraries

EndNote Online and EndNote Web of Science: references can be shared in private group libraries.

EndNote Desktop: references can be shared with or without PDFs.

Mobile Options

Various options

Apps for iOS and Android iPad app
PDFs and Files PDFs can be added to citations along with notes and other attachments, citation data can be retrieved from PDFs PDFs can be organized and annotated, citation data can be retrieved from PDFs, PDFs can be shared in private groups

EndNote Online and EndNote Web of Science: PDFs cannot be added.

EndNote Desktop: PDFs can be embedded with citations.

After You Leave ASU No change Mendeley Institutional Edition will not be available, which means that alumni storage space for Mendeley will be reduced to 2 GB

No change for EndNote Online and EndNote Desktop.

EndNote Web of Science will not be available, which means that only 21 citation styles will be available to alumni.

How to Use RefWorks

RefWorks (https://libguides.asu.edu/refworksdb), a licensed web-based bibliography and database manager, allows users to create their own personal citation/abstract database by importing citations from online databases, the ASU catalog, or text files.

Signing up

To use RefWorks, users must sign up for an individual account. First,
log in to ASU. You will be directed to the RefWorks page, where you sign up for individual account at the top of the gray column on the left hand side.  

Creating Folders

 Everyone affiliated with ASU (faculty, students and staff) can use RefWorks. Users may have many RefWorks accounts, but it is advised to create folders and name them for a specific ongoing project. Go to New Folder.

Importing citations into RefWorks  

Visit the following websites to import to RefWorks:

When importing into RefWorks from ASU Library databases, a Get It @ ASU sign will appear with the record, which will allow users to locate the article.

For more information about RefWorks, visit http://lib.asu.edu/help/refworks.

Managing RefWorks and Creating Bibliography

 

When users export articles from indexes owned by the ASU Library, the citations will appear in the Last Imported folder. Check the records and put them in the appropriate folder by using the Folders command on the top of the screen.

To create bibliography, take the following steps:

  1. Click on Bibliography on the top gray bar.
  2. Choose the style under the Output Style (e.g., APA – American Psychological Association, 5th Edition).
  3. Choose the format of the document (e.g., HTML, Word) using the dropdown menus under File Type to Create
  4. Choose the folder you want from the dropdown menus under Include to create bibliography.
  5. Click on Create Bibliography.

Note: If you choose Word format, the file will appear at the bottom of your computer.

ASU Library offers RefWorks sessions (Basic and Advanced). Click here for the schedule.

Hours and Locations