ACE Electoral Knowledge Network - Cost of Registration and Election The ACE website is an online knowledge repository that provides comprehensive information and customised advice on electoral processes. The website contains in-depth articles, global statistics and data, an Encyclopaedia of Elections, information on electoral assistance, observation and professional development, region- and country-specific resources, daily electoral news, an election calendar, quizzes, expert networks and much, much more.
Campaign Finance Institute - Historical Data: CFI's regularly published analyses of federal campaign finance are built on the idea that to identify new developments, you have to look at consistent data over time, to compare what is, with what was. We invite you to review historical data under these various headings
Center for Competitive Politics The Center for Competitive Politics works to promote and defend First Amendment rights to free political speech, assembly, and petition. CCP also publishes research on the effects of laws and regulations that stymie First Amendment rights to free political speech. We track and analyze proposed legislation and regulations at the federal and state levels that could negatively affect these rights.
ElectionWorld Electionworld was for long time a comprehensive database on elections. The development of the political parts of Wikipedia made it possible to move the content of Electionworld to Wikipedia and enable a more comprehensive database for information on elections and political parties.
FEC Disclosure Portal The Federal Election Commission's Campaign Finance Disclosure Portal provides a single point of entry to campaign finance data. You'll find easy-to-navigate maps and charts that display the campaign finance data you're most interested in. You'll also find many search tools that will help you through our data sources. You can download many of these data sets to perform your own analyses.
Follow the Money The nonpartisan, nonprofit National Institute on Money in State Politics promotes an accountable democracy by compiling comprehensive campaign-donor, lobbyist, and other information from government disclosure agencies nationwide.
IDEA International Political Finance Database - The International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance (International IDEA) is an intergovernmental organization with a mission to support sustainable democracy worldwide.
Open Secrets.org OpenSecrets.org is the nation's premier website tracking the influence of money on U.S. politics, and how that money affects policy and citizens' lives. OpenSecrets.org has become a clearinghouse for data and analysis on multiple aspects of money in politics - including the independent interest groups, such as super PACs and political nonprofits, flooding politics with outside spending, federal lobbying, Washington's "revolving door" and the personal finances of members of Congress, the president and other officials.
Sunlight Foundation - Tools and Projects - The Sunlight Foundation is a nonpartisan nonprofit that advocates for open government globally and uses technology to make government more accountable to all.
Ballotpedia - an online encyclopedia about American politics and elections.
Bloomberg Money and Politics Report - Current information and analysis from the Bloomberg Network.
Congress.gov - the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Printing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.
National Conference of State Legislatures - Campaign finance laws are intended to reduce the potential for corruption, or even the appearance of corruption. There are three main avenues for regulating campaign finance. Few states rely on just one; most utilize a combination of two or three. These three primary methods are disclosure, contribution limits, public financing.
Source: Robert Maguire with the Center for Responsive Politics. Matea Gold and Cristina Rivero/The Washington Post. Published on January 5, 2014, 6:34 p.m.