Chinese Studies
This guide offers curated resources and research support for the study of China’s history, language, literature, politics, philosophy, art, and culture..
Chinese eBook/eText and Newspaper Databases (ASU ID/Password required)
-
Duxiu 读秀This bibliographical index database provides full text search capability to more than 600 million volumes of e-books and other materials including dissertations, journals, magazines, web pages and newspapers. The first 17 pages of each e-book are available for preview. Document delivery is also available.
-
ChinaMaxx 超星中文电子书(简体字检索)The content aims at enhancing academic studies on Chinese Social Sciences and facilitating research project and paper writing. 1,000 e-books are included。
-
Complete Classics Collection of Ancient China 古今圖書集成(繁体字检索)The Complete Classics Collection of Ancient China was edited by Chen Meng-lei, a renowned scholar of the Qing Dynasty. The present digital edition of The Complete Classics includes the most seminal classics of Chinese literature and culture, from ancient China through the Qing Dynasty. The collection includes works on astronomy, geography, history, philosophy, literature, politics, economics, art, education, agriculture, medicine, and more.
-
Database of Chinese Popular Literature 中国俗文库Database of Chinese Popular Literature collects 10,000 kinds of popular literary works, and popular documents and materials of successive dynasties from the Qin-Han Dynasties to the early years of the Republic of China, including novels, scripts for story-telling, theatrical texts, story songs, storytelling in southern dialects, common saying stories, rare books, and treasure volumes.-If your IP is authorized, click the arrow next to the option to directly click to enter the site.
-If your IP is not authorized, enter your ASURITE ID and Password in the login box and click the arrow in the box. -
ERUDITION: Chinese classic ancient books 中國基本古籍庫This database currently includes 10,000 titles in 12,500 editions from the pre-Qin period through to the Republican period. All texts are provided in full text and image format, allowing for a direct comparison both between digitized text and original text image, and in some cases between different editions of the text. (Please select “Ancient Classics" in the login page first, and then click on 中國基本古籍庫)
-
Scripta Sinica 漢籍全文資料庫The Scripta Sinica is the largest Chinese full text database to encompass an enormous breadth of historical materials of this scale. Hundreds of titles pertaining to the traditional Chinese classics have been included in the database and have been categorized with meticulous care. The Scripta Sinica database contains almost all of the important Chinese classics, especially those related to Chinese history.
-
Shen Bao Digital Archive 申报数据库The Shanghai based newspaper Shen Bao collection contains hundreds of thousands of issues published from 1872 to 1949. It is an important research tool for understanding China between the last imperial dynasty through the Republican era. It supports full-image and full-text.
-
Sibu Congkan 四部叢刊 (繁体字检索)The electronic Sibu Congkan is a fully searchable collection of the authoritative editions of over 500 original and historical monographs published by the Commercial Press in 1919-1936. Holdings span Song, Yuan, Ming and Qing Dynasties including early manuscripts and rare prints (antiquarian, out-of-print books).
-
Siku Quanshu 文淵閣四庫全書電子版(繁体字检索; only works with Internet Explorer)Siku Quanshu (Complete Library in Four Branches of Literature), which contains 4.7 million pages and 800 million Chinese characters, is the most significant single database of pre-modern Chinese texts.
English E-books and Newspaper Databases (ASU ID/Password required)
-
Access Newspaper Archive DatabaseNewspaperARCHIVE is one of the world's largest online newspaper archives.
-
World News Connection Archive(Coverage: November 1995 – December 31, 2013)It is compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, focusing especially on local media sources. It covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. It includes translations and English language versions from newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals and non-classified technical reports.
-
Global Newsstream
Explore a vast collection of global news, including recent articles and archives dating back to the 1980s.
-
Nexis Uni
Find full text of various newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and journals. Includes company directories, financial reports, biographies, federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions, and news transcripts.
-
PAIS Index
Indexes global research on public policy and social issues, covering scholarly articles, books, government documents, grey literature, reports, and more. Content in multiple languages.
PAIS International (1976 to present) contains records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
PAIS Archive (1915 to 1976) is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976 and contains over 1.23 million records covering monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics.
Search for More Chinese Books
-
HaTHi Trust Digital LibraryThe HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations.