Chinese Studies
This guide serves as a guide to Chinese Studies.
- Home
- Books and Newspapers
- Articles
- Statistics and Data
- For Contemporary China
- Primary Sources on Contemporary China
- Full-Text Databases
- selected English Newspapers and Newswires (Current website)
- selected English Newspapers and Newswires (Archived; ASURITE ID and Password Required)
- News Stations
- Business and Economics
- Laws and Governments
- Biography
- Google Scholar Search
- Secondary Sources on Contemporary China
- Free Reference Tools
- BibliographiesToggle Dropdown
- Open Access Databases and Websites
- Citation Sources
- Dissertation/Thesis Resources
Frequently Used Databases
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- Google Scholar (with Library Links) This link opens in a new window
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowAlternate titles: ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Full-Text Databases
- World News Connection Archives (Nov. 1995-Dec. 2013)It is Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) on the web, described as being a " Foreign News Alert Service from the US Government" to "identify what really is happening in a specific country or region." It is compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, focusing especially on local media sources.It covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. It includes translations and English language versions from newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals and non-classified technical reports. Regions included are Central Eurasia, East Asia, Near East & South Asia, China, East Europe, West Europe, Latin America and Sub-Saharan Africa. It is updated every U.S. Government working day, within 24-72 hours from the time of original publication or broadcast. It is a valuable research tool for anyone who needs to monitor non-U.S. media sources.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to full-text business and economics journals, dissertations, working papers, and key periodicals like The Economist and The Wall Street Journal, along with detailed company and industry reports.
Coverage: 1923+
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text information and perspectives from several thousand U.S. and international newspapers and newswire sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Also includes broadcast transcripts, business magazines and miscellaneous other source types.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1980 – current
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Provides full text of selected newspapers worldwide, trade publications, legal periodicals, and legal scholarly journals. Includes company directories, financial reports, quotations, biographies, almanac, federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions, accounting statements/guidelines, and news transcripts. - PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1972+
Maximum Concurrent Users: 4
PAIS (originally, the Public Affairs Information Service) is a combination of two databases: PAIS International and PAIS Archive. The PAIS International database contains records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS Archive is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976 and contains over 1.23 million records covering monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics.This database covers the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics published in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages.
selected English Newspapers and Newswires (Current website)
- NewsNow (London)This Internet press clippings service offers real‐time news from news sources in 139 countries. The address above links to news about China.
- Financial Times (London)This links to the newspaper’s online rich site summary news feeds, which include a section on China.
- China Brief (Washington, D.C.)This is a biweekly newsmagazine focusing on mainland China, produced out of the University of Pennsylvania, featuring some very good analysts.
selected English Newspapers and Newswires (Archived; ASURITE ID and Password Required)
- BBC Selected News Articles: Hong Konga. Ching Chi Jih Pao (Hong Kong) (3/2/2004)
b. Hong Kong Economic Journal (Hong Kong) (from 2/23/01)
c. Ming Pao (Hong Kong) (from 11/8/00)
d. Wen Wei Po (Hong Kong) (from 2/11/99)
e. Ta Kung Pao (Hong Kong) (from 1/7/97) - BBC selected newspaper articles: Chinaa. Dazhong Ribao (Jinan, China) (4/22/99-8/17/02)
b. Guangxi Ribao (Nanning, China) (11/22/01)
c. Jiefangjun Bao (Beijing, China) (9/29/99)
d. Sichuan Ribao (Chengdu, China) (1/3/99-10/29/99)
e. Renmin Gongan Bao (Beijing, China) (5/17/02-5/18/04)
f. Renmin Ribao (Beijing, China) (from 5/14/99)
g. Yangcheng Wanbao (Guangzhou, China) (6/12/01)
h. Zhongguo Xinwen Zhoukan (Beijing, China) (5/24/03-8/14/03) - BBC Selected Wire Articles: China News ServiceBeijing Zhongguo Xinwen She (China News Service) (from 12/30/96 to present). The China News Service (中国新闻社) is the second largest state-owned news agency in the People's Republic of China, after the Xinhua News Agency.
- BBC Selected Wire Articles: Hong Kong China News AgencyProvides current news on Mainland China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and Macau.Zhongguo Tongxun She News Agency (Hong Kong) (from 1/5/97)
- China's foreign tradefrom 01/01/2003 to 07/31/2003 in ABI/INFORM Complete
from 09/18/2011 to present in LexisNexis Academic
This magazine introduces the foreign trade policies of China, reports the developing situation, market and import & export trade dynamics in China, the investing environment in every region around the world, features the trade opportunities, investing & cooperating projects, the introduction of economic & trade institutions and enterprises, displays the famous and excellent Chinese products and provide the efficient services for China and foreign companies. - China Radio InternationalA state-owned radio station in China. Programs include news, current affairs, and features on politics, the economy, culture, science and technology.
- People’s Daily (Renmin Ribao)the official newspaper of the Communist Party of China. Provide the single location where the central government and the Communist Party of China announce their respective policies and disseminate governmental, political, and economic messages to the public and the world.
- Selected Newspapers on China in NewsBankChina Business News (China) 2011 - Current
Chemicals Importers & Exporters (China) 2016 - Current
China Daily (Beijing, China) 2001 - Current
China Daily Africa Weekly (Africa) 2014 - 2018
China Daily Europe Weekly (Europe) 2014 - 2018
China Daily Hong Kong Edition (Hong Kong) 2014 - Current
China Daily US Edition (USA) 2014 - 2019
China Daily US Edition: Web Edition Articles (USA)
China Economic Review - Daily Briefings (Hong Kong) 2011 - 2013
China Economic Review (Hong Kong) 2011 - 2013
China Offshore (Hong Kong) 2011 - 2012
China Post, The (Taiwan) 2013 - Current
China Watch Blog (Hong Kong) 2013 - 2015
chinabidding.org - Tender Awards 2012 - 2012
chinabidding.org - Tender Notices 2012 - 2012
Chinese Social Sciences Today [CSST] (China) 2014 - Current - Taipei TimesProvides English-language news coverage of Taiwan.from 11/22/2003 to present in Access International News
from 11/22/2003 to present in Access World News Research Collection
in World News Connection - Xinhua General News ServicesThe biggest center for collecting information and press conferences in China.from 01/01/1977 to present in Nexis Uni.
News Stations
- China Central Television InternationalCCTV International is the 24-hour English language news station of China Central Television, the mainland’s largest television network. It was launched in 2000. This site allows viewers to watch live or archived news stories.
- China Radio InternationalOne of the few English portals in China, providing comprehensive news and information in China.
- China Digital TimesThis site is managed by the Berkeley China Internet Project, in the Graduate School of Journalism, University of California at Berkeley. It is a news site that aims to use participatory media technology to create an interactive network for reporting and discussing news about mainland China.
Business and Economics
- Data on China's Central BudgetsIt is the official website of China's Ministry of Finance. In addition to news, it also provides data on China's central budgets and polices on China's finance.
- ObrisContains detailed company financial data, original filings, ownership and subsidiary information, Marketline company and industry profiles, business intelligence and M&A deal data on all public companies plus many private companies worldwide. ORBIS is the expert search interface to Bureau Van Dijk financial data.
- Passport GMIDThis database contains information on key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers. It is an integrated on-line information system covering over 350 markets and 207 countries.
Laws and Governments
- State Council Legislative Affairs OfficeIt is a convenient site to use in searches for laws and government documents. You can search for national laws, administrative regulations, local regulations, regulations issued by ministries, and judicial interpretations.
- PRC Central GovernmentIn addition to news, this site provides a basic introduction to government agencies, a simple “who’s on Chinese leaders, and links to government ministries and provincial governments.
- The National People's Congress of the People's Republic of ChinaThe website focuses on reporting all major missions and activities of the congress and its standing committee, releasing the laws, resolutions/decisions and lists of appointments and removals passed by the standing committee, and introducing the NPC system.
Biography
- China VitaeAn online biographical database with more than 2500 biographies of current Chinese political, military, economic, business, and academic leaders. While it is incomplete and not up to date, it is quite extensive.
Google Scholar Search
- Last updated: Jan 3, 2024 1:49 PM
- URL: https://libguides.asu.edu/chinese_studies
- Print page
Subjects: Ethnic & International Studies
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
