Skip to Main Content
Login to LibApps


Chemical Engineering

Research guide for library and internet information resources in Chemical Engineering.

How to use this guide:

This guide provides links to the best library and internet resources for chemical engineering research.

 Resources is organized by the type of literature used by chemical engineers; on each sub-page, we'll link you to the best library and internet resources for that document type; many of these resources have instructions or tutorials for effective searching.    

Information Research Skills contains step-by-step instructions for locating an item from its citation, finding material properties, searching the literature, and keeping current.    

Communication Tools has information about citation management, where to find writing assistance for your assignments, and poster design tips.  

Library Services talks about our the Ask a Librarian, Interlibrary Loan, and Document Delivery services plus how to stay up-to-date on new material being added to the ASU Library. 

Best Bets and Quick Starts

for finding chemical engineering info ...

EI Compendex (Engineering Village)
An index to journal articles and conference papers for all areas of engineering.

Scopus

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research. Scopus provides access to a broad portfolio of peer-reviewed content from around the world.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
A 20+ volume encyclopedia for all aspects of applied chemistry. 

Knovel 
A full text database of handbooks, encyclopedias and manuals for most areas of engineering.  Great place to find quick facts, formulas and properties of materials. 

SciFinder
An index to journal articles, conference papers, dissertations and patents for all areas of pure and applied chemistry.  Also has sections for chemical reactions, properties of substances, and catalog of manufacturers/suppliers. 

Library One Search 
An interdisciplinary database for finding books, journal articles, films and more at the ASU Library.

Online Research Assistance

LIVE, DROP-IN CONSULTATIONS via Zoom.

Drop-in consultations are currently paused. Please, email Eric Prosser to set up an appointment.

Day of the Week Hours (Arizona Time)                                                                                    
Monday By appointment. Email eric.prosser@asu.edu
Tuesday By appointment. Email eric.prosser@asu.edu
Wednesday By appointment. Email eric.prosser@asu.edu
Thursday By appointment. Email eric.prosser@asu.edu
Friday By appointment. Email eric.prosser@asu.edu

And, remember, you can always use our Ask-a-Librarian service as well.

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.