Getting Published
Scholarly Communication Librarian
300 E. Orange Mall
Tempe, AZ 85287-1006
Reference Management
- Citation StylesAn overview of several of the most frequently used citation styles as well as access to additional styles used within the scientific disciplines is presented here.
- Citation Management ToolsCitation management tools are applications used to save and organize your references in a personal database. Using your database of references, you can create citations or lists of references (bibliographies) according to different citation styles, and much more: you can share your research and collaborate with others.
Identity Management
A prominent online presence helps you share your work through increased visibility, track your impact in the field, and network with others. It also fosters an identifiable personal brand; allowing you to market your achievements. A variety of social networks and other tools help you reach an increasingly varied audience beyond traditional scholarly outlets.
- ORCIDORCID provides a persistent digital identifier (like a personal DOI or SSN) that distinguishes you from every other researcher and supports automated linkages between you and your professional activities, ensuring that your work is recognized.
- ClarivateA unique identifier, Clarivate integrates with the Web of Science and is ORCID compliant, allowing you to claim and showcase your publications from a single one account.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar searches for published researched, and allows you to create an individual author profile to help you track the impact of your work.
- MendeleyMendeley is a free reference manager and an academic social network. Researchers can manage their research, showcase published works, and connect with researchers worldwide.
- ResearchGateResearchers can: share their publications ; connect and collaborate with colleagues; get statistics about who's been reading and citing their work; ask questions; and use the research-focused job board.
- Academia.eduAcademia.edu is a platform for you to share research papers. You can use Academia.edu to share your research, monitor impact analytics, and track the research of academics you follow.
- Impactstory Profiles
Researcher impact profiles, linked to your ORCiD, which highlight altmetrics and nontraditional scholarly products. Also includes achievements, which are a way of looking beyond the numbers to find stories that matter: stories the buzz your research is generating, the level of engagement with your work, your openness, and some lighthearted fun from time to time. - LinkedinLinkedin is a professional network. LinkedIn provides access to people, jobs, news, updates, and insights.
- TwitterStay updated on the latest events in the field, connect with colleagues, foster new relationships, and promote your professional achievements.
Remember a social networking site is not a digital repository. Sites like academia.edu and Research Gate are powerful tools for sharing your work. However, online platforms do not properly substitute for a digital repository's stable and reliable long-term accessibility. Here are some suggested services, all with different strengths and weaknesses.
Consult these library guides for information about more sustainable repositories.
Data Management
- Research Data ServicesThis Library Guide provides basic information on Data Management Plans and other Research Data Management services.
Other tools
- AuthoreaA free collaborative editor for research, which also supports LaTeX templates, includes citation management and formatting tools (by publisher).
- Open Science Framework (OSF)A scholarly, collaborative project management and data storage tool, integrates with tools such as Dropbox, GitHub, FigShare, Box, Mendeley, and Amazon Web Services. You can create an account using your ASURITE.
- PubPeerPlatform for open, online post-publication peer review.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
