African Centre for Technology Studies - International agency dealing with diversity, climate change and desertification.
Directory of Development Organizations - Guide to International Organizations, Governments, Private Sector Institutions, Development Agencies, Universities, Research and Training Institutes, NGOs/PDOs, Grantmakers, Banks, Microfinance Institutions and Development Consulting Firms
Economist Intelligence Unit - Provides data and forecasts about political, economic and business climates of 200 countries including Country Report; Country Profile; Country Commerce; Country Finance, etc
Economist.com Country Briefings - Country briefings from the Economist. See also the Economist Intelligence Unit service for more detailed information and data.
Environment and Trade: A Handbook - Information on how trade can affect the environment and how environmental concern can work through the trading system to foster or frustrate development in both rich and poor countries.
European Foundation Sustainable Development Online - Web guide providing links on topics related to sustainable development.
European Union Information Society - European Union website on information technology and development.
Foreign Government Websites - Links to the official websites of national governments around the world.
Fundedes - Non-Governmental Organization, dedicated to the dissemination of New Information and Communication Technologies (NICT) in developing countries, especially in Latin America and the Caribbean.
GenderNet - This site describes how the World Bank seeks to reduce gender disparities and enhance women's participation in economic development through its programs and projects.
GEO Data Portal - The GEO Data Portal is the authoritative source for data sets used by the United Nations Environment Network and its partners. Users have free access to view and create their own maps, graphs and data tables and can also download data in different formats free of charge.
Global Challenge, Global Opportunity: Trends in Sustainable Development - 2002 UN report on trends in sustainable development.
Global Economic Prospects and the Developing Countries 2002 - 2002 UN report on economic development.
GlobalEDGE - Insights into the history, culture, government, and economy of nearly 200 countries around the world. An impressive database of statistics summarizes everything from geographical characteristics to technological development. Visitors can access the Market Potential Indicators study, which is published annually, to learn about emerging markets in the global economy. Extensive information about global and country-specific trade laws is also available, most of which is contained in links to offsite resources. Additionally, the site acts as a portal to foreign stock exchanges, standards and conversion information, and much more.
Harvard University Center for International Development - Centralized information resource on global trade negotiations.
Inter-American Development Bank's Sustainable Development Department - Activities related to education, training, and social and technology impacts of sustainable development.
International Development Network - Information and resources on sustainable development.
International Economic Development Council - Through the online resource center, visitors may access such materials as the Economic Developer's Reference Guide (which provides an overview of such key topics as tourism, venture capital, and empowerment zones) and an overview of ongoing legislative matters that may impact the landscape of economic development. Finally, the site is rounded out by an excellent section dedicated to brownfields redevelopment, which includes a general manual of redevelopment techniques and links to external websites, such as those offered by the Environmental Protection Agency.
International Fund for Agricultural Development - A special function and agency of the United Nations. The site includes information on the fund's initiatives and its partners as well as perusing information supplied in the Rural Poverty Knowledgebase (including related links and an explanation of the grant programme offered by IFAD.
International Index of Economic Freedom - Guide to the world's economies. It includes country-by-country analyses and the most up-to-date data available on foreign investment codes, taxes, tariffs, banking regulations, monetary policy, black markets, and more.
International Monetary Fund Financial Data - Country financial information from the IMF.
Network Startup Resource Center - Non-profit organization helping develop and deploy networking technology in various projects throughout Asia/Pacific, Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean, the Middle East, and the New Independent States.
OECD Electronic Commerce Site - Organization for Economic Cooperation Development's reports on electronic commerce and development.
OECD in Figures: Statistics on the Member Countries, 2003 Edition - Fact-book presents 97-pages of valuable statistics about the 30 member countries that constitute the membership of the OECD including economic growth and performance, employment, trade, development aid, research and development, science and technology, and education expenditures, consumer prices, health spending, road fatalities, life expectancy, investment flows, and consumer prices.
Political Risk Services - Provides political, geographical, social, and economic data on 100 countries. Includes brief overviews and comprehensive country reports. Ideal tool to determine economic risk for international business.
PopPlanet - Representing a partnership between the National Council for Science and the Environment and the Population Reference Bureau, 'PopPlanet is a resource of up-to-date country specific information on key population, environment, and health issues.' Designed as an information tool for researchers, policy makers, and others, this site includes information on biological resources, health services, and more.
Provention Consortium - Global coalition of governments, international organisations, academic institutions, the private sector and civil society organisations dedicated to increasing the safety of vulnerable communities and to reducing the impact of disasters in developing countries.
Science and Technology Indicators for the European Research Area - Current publications about indicators, ongoing projects on the development of new indicators, calls for proposals and studies, links to databases.
Sustainable Energy and Economy Network - Think tank on environment, human rights and development issues with a particular focus on energy, climate change, environmental justice, gender equity, and economic issues, particularly as these play out in North/South relations.
United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods - Web resource with links to international law sources including contracts, arbitration and trade law.
United Nations Economic and Social Development - Web resource with links to areas in which the United Nations has particular interest.
United Nations Information and Communications Technology for Development Program - Web resource with links to reports and other information about information technology and communications.
United Nations' E-commerce and Development Report 2002 - A report from the United Nations on the contribution to economic growth that is made by e-commerce on a global basis.
United Nations' Human Development Reports - Abstracts and full text of Human Development reports searchable by theme or region.
Women in Global Science and Technology - Addresses critical issues of gender, science, technology and development.
World Bank Global Information and Communication Technologies - Information related to the World Bank's evolving response to the information andnetworking revolutions.
World Bank's World Development Reports - World Development Reports are guides to the economic, social and environmental state of the world.
World Bank: Sustainable Agriculture - 'This website draws on World Bank and other experience to promote wider understanding and awareness of options for agricultural development, addressing topics in Agricultural Knowledge and Information Systems (AKIS), Livestock and Animal Resources, Fisheries and Aquaculture, Crops, Markets & Agribusiness, Producer Organizations, and Irrigation and Drainage.'
World Commission on the Social Dimension of Globalization - Independent body initiated to respond to the needs of people as they cope with the unprecedented changes that globalization has brought to their lives, their families, and the societies in which they live.
World Economic Forum: Global Competitiveness Programme - The Global Competitiveness Programme is best known for its flagship publication, The Global Competitiveness Report. These series of reports are perhaps the most authoritative assessments of national economies throughout the world. The Reports themselves were first published in 1979, and continue to be made available in a variety of formats. Executive summaries and abstracts only.
World Health Organization's 'Macroeconomics and Health: Investing in Health for Economic Development' - The Report of the Commission on Macroeconomics and Health assesses the place of health in world economic development.
World Policy Institute - Organization concerned with promoting and engaging the public debate and scholarship surrounding international diplomacy and world politics.
World Trade Organization - The organization that governs the rules of trade between nations.