Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Global Technology Development

This is a guide to resources in field of Global Technology Development.

Business and Economics

ABI Inform - comprehensive business database includes articles from thousands of English-language publications worldwide covering business, management, and related areas as well as case studies, annual reports, Experian company credit information, country reports, industry reports, commodity reports, conference papers, and dissertations.

Econlit-Research database for the world's economic literature. Topics include economic development, forecasting, and history; fiscal and monetary theory; business and public finance; international, health care, regional and urban economics, and more. 

Country Info/International Sources

  • Access UN - Access UN serves primarily as an ongoing Web-based index to more than 500,000 current and archived United Nations documents and publications, contained in our microfiche collection. Access UN also provides the full text or links to the full text of more than 35,000 of these documents and publications. Useful for research on international problems of an economic, social, cultural, or humanitarian nature.
  • Census Bureau International Programs - The U.S. Census Bureau conducts demographic, economic, and geographic studies of other countries and offers access to their data.
  • CIA World Factbook -  information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
  • OECD iLibrary - Accesses studies, periodicals, and statistical annuals produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. In addition, OECD and IEA statistics are searchable under the Statistics tab.
  • PAIS International-Database of political, economic, & social issues in current debate. Covers public & social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, & other social sciences. 
  • State Department - Information dealing with US relations with world regions and individual countries
  • Women's Studies International-Database of women's studies materials from around the world. Covers political, economic, social & cultural issues, including political science, sociology, business, history, education, etc. 
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts- Research database of political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. 

If you are studying a particular region such as Latin America, you might want to consult our Ethnic and International Studies Library Guides.

Miscellaneous Science, Technology, Statistics

  • CQ Researcher -  in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
  • EI Compendex - Index to engineering journal articles and conference papers from the major engineering publishers.  Use "Full Text" and "Get It @ ASU" links on each entry to determine if full text is available online.
  • Inspec - Index to journal articles, conference proceedings, and dissertations in physics, electrical/electronic engineering, and computing. Use "Get It @ ASU" links on each entry to determine if full text is available online.
  • Statistical Databases 
  • Science and Technology Resources - Gray Literature resources
  • Technical Reports - Government sponsored research
  • Web Of Science- Citation and article indexes covering sciences, humanities and social sciences.

News

  • Access World News - full-text information and perspectives from several thousand U.S. and international newspapers and newswire sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Also includes broadcast transcripts, business magazines and miscellaneous other source types.
    • Shortcuts to world regions
    • Specialized Current Events links
  • Global Newsbank-Information on international issues and events taken from more than 1,500 international sources, including translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government documents
  • Latin American Newsletters - An online collection of current news sources in English comprised of local news digests from Latin America and the Caribbean, regional reports, personal briefings, special bulletins, research analyses, 5-year forecasts, and more.
  • Nexis Uni - Provides full text of selected newspapers worldwide, trade publications, legal periodicals, and legal scholarly journals. Includes company directories, financial reports, quotations, biographies, almanac, federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions, accounting statements/guidelines, and news transcripts.
  • New York Times
  • ProQuest News and Newspapers - Allows for cross-searching of the Alt-PressWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch indexes as well as current Arizona RepublicBarron'sLos Angeles TimesWall Street JournalWall Street Journal AsiaWall Street Journal Europe and Chicago Tribune

Hours and Locations