Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Music - Online Resources

This library guide is designed to support the learning, research, and teaching efforts of students, faculty and staff of Arizona State University's School of Music, Dance and Theatre, a school within the Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception Online
Surveys the origins and development of the Bible in Judaism and Christianity, and other Western and non-Western religious movements; and documents its reception and influence through diverse cultural, textual, literary, musical, and cinematographic manifestations.

MGG Online
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart is a German-language encyclopedia featuring scholarly articles on music and related fields such as literature, philosophy, and the arts.

Music Online: African American Music Reference
A comprehensive reference collection chronicling the rich history of African American music. It provides access to a variety of sources including anthologies, biographies, chronologies, discographies, encyclopedias, and textbooks.

Music Online: Classical Music Reference Library
A comprehensive music reference database. It features content found in Baker's Dictionary of Music and includes coverage of all classical genres, definitions of musical terms, and biographical information on the major composers and artists.

Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world’s peoples. In addition to articles by expert contributors, it provides streaming access to audio recordings.

Oxford Music Online
Maximum Concurrent Users: 11
An integrated music resource including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd ed.); The New Grove Dictionary of Opera; The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd ed.); The Grove Dictionary of American Music (2nd ed.); The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments (2nd ed.); The Oxford Dictionary of Music (2nd ed.; and The Oxford Companion to Music.

Oxford Reference
Brings together into a single cross-searchable resource encyclopedias and scholarly reference titles from many of Oxford University Press language and subject reference works.

RILM Music Encyclopedias
It provides comprehensive encyclopedic coverage of the most important disciplines, fields, and subject areas, among them popular music, opera, instruments, blues, gospel, recorded sound, and women composers. Its content spans multiple countries and languages--English, German, French, Italian, Dutch, and Greek.

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.