Music Resources

Our A-Z Databases search features includes a Type filter for Streaming Video.

The streaming video databases listed below are those which are most relevant for music.

Academic Search Ultimate
Access popular press magazines, newspapers, and peer-reviewed scholarly journals across various academic disciplines. Also includes historic Associated Press videos.

Alexander Street
Streaming access to documentaries, films, and primary sources in arts, health, history, music, psychology, and social sciences for educational and research purposes.

Dance Online: Dance in Video
Streaming access to performances, documentaries, and instructional videos featuring influential dance companies and performers from the 20th century to today, covering diverse styles such as ballet, modern, and jazz, as well as experimental dance.

Digital Theatre+
A digital streaming collection of over 1000 full-length films of Shakespeare plays, modern dramas, classical music, dance, musicals, opera and adaptations of classic novels. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play.

Disability in the Modern World
This multimedia collection covers the 20th-century Disability Rights Movement, focusing on disability theory, arts, advocacy, politics, independence, accessibility, and intersectionality. Includes e-books, e-journals, streaming video, and more.

Filmakers Library Online
Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.

Films on Demand
A collection of high-quality educational streaming videos organized by subject. Each title features Individual earning Objects that break down the content into smaller segments.
Additional Info: Faculty, please note: When linking to or sharing a hyperlink for a specific video: When connected to an individual video recording, copy and paste the Title URL (located under the film description). For off campus use, URLs must include the “ezproxy” information.

Hemispheric Institute
Houses a vast collection of invaluable materials related to performance in the Americas, including online archives of hundreds of hours of video footage; a series of multimedia casebooks devoted to specific artists, companies or themes; as well as curated pedagogical modules that include scholarly texts, course syllabi, interviews, image galleries, and more. Materials are in English, Spanish and Portuguese.

Kanopy
Browse: Subjects: Music, Theatre & Dance
Streaming video service, which provides access to titles covering various educational topics and feature films for various producers including Criterion, Documentary Educational Resources, New Day Films, Media Education, California Newsreel, PBS, and others.

Music Online: Opera in Videox
A streaming video database containing important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world's leading performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon.

Naxos Music Library
A comprehensive streaming library of classical, jazz, and world music tracks, along with educational materials and playlists.

PBS Video Collection
A collection of over 1,600 streaming videos, including documentaries and series covering a wide range of topics such as science, history, art, and business from one of television’s most trusted networks.

Theatre in Video
Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video.