Music Resources

ASU School of Music Performance Archive
Devoted to the preservation and dissemination of recordings of performances offered by the School of Music, Dance and Theatre from 1985 to the present day. Content is derived from undergraduate and graduate student recitals, faculty performances, and concerts given by the School’s various ensembles. It provides streaming access to a wide range of music, some of which has never been available on commercial sound recordings. In creating this archive, it is the intent of the ASU Library to provide a freely available, valuable, electronic resource for the scholarly study of music.

Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM)
Coverage: Varies
A streaming online database providing access to licensed commercial and archival recordings of American musical works. In addition to high quality sound files, DRAM provides full liner notes, scholarly articles and other research materials.

Drama Online
Explore by: Genres and forms: Musical theatre
Explore by: Themes: Music
A research database that combines playtext content and scholarly publications with filmed live performances, film adaptations and audio plays. This database is intended for drama and literature students, professors and teachers.

Judaica Sound Archives
Please note that to gain full access to this resource requires registration at RSA Research Station Registration.
An online searchable archive of Judaica sound recordings. Includes recordings of Yiddish, Hebrew and Sephardic music in any language from the various countries where Jews have lived, both secular and religious. The music is provided in a non-downloadable streaming audio format.

Music Online: African American Music Reference
A comprehensive reference collection chronicling the rich history of African American music. It provides access to a variety of sources including anthologies, biographies, chronologies, discographies, encyclopedias, and textbooks.

Music Online: American Music
A streaming online music database and fully searchable resource. The collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others. Liner notes to all the albums are included in PDF format.

Music Online: Classical Music Library
A streaming online classical music database providing access to licensed recordings sourced from many major music labels. The site also includes program notes.

Music Online: Classical Music Reference Library
A comprehensive music reference database. It features content found in Baker's Dictionary of Music and includes coverage of all classical genres, definitions of musical terms, and biographical information on the major composers and artists.

Music Online: Classical Scores Library, Volume I
Explore important classical music scores, manuscripts, and previously unpublished material in digital format, spanning music from the Renaissance to the 21st century.

Music Online: Contemporary World Music
Genres include world, folk, Latin, contemporary, traditional, hip-hop/rap, reggae, dance, jazz, instrumental, and vocal + choral. Offers Basic and Advanced search options as well as multiple Browse options: Cultural Groups. Genres. Instruments. People. Performers / Ensembles. Places. Publishers. Titles..

Music Online: Jazz Music Library
Offers the largest collection of streaming jazz music available online, with recordings from key genres, artists, and labels spanning the history of jazz. It’s essential for studying jazz history, performance, and appreciation.

Music Online: Listening
Explore a vast collection of streaming music across multiple genres, supporting music research, teaching, and personal discovery with millions of tracks and continuously updated albums.

Music Online: Opera in Videox
A streaming video database containing important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world's leading performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon.

Music Online: Popular Music Library
Explore a vast collection of popular music from all genres and eras. Ideal for studying the development of popular music and its cultural impact through high-quality streaming audio.

Music Online: Reference
Comprised of four resources -- African American Music Reference, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library, and The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online.

Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Produced in partnership with and including the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, this streaming database provides access to a variety of resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. It also includes field recordings recorded around the African continent, the South Asian subcontinent and North America.

Naxos Music Library
A comprehensive streaming library of classical, jazz, and world music tracks, along with educational materials and playlists.

Naxos Sheet Music
Digital sheet music in all classical genres from Medieval to the 21st century, allowing users to download and print scores using the Solero viewer, which enables transposing, tempo adjustment, and listening to selections​.