Political Science

Resources for Political Science and Politics

Most Used Political Science Databases and Resources

Academic Search Ultimate

Access to popular press magazines and peer-reviewed scholarly journals across various academic disciplines, including open-access journals and historic Associated Press videos.
Scopus

An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including journals, proceedings, and patents. It offers tools for citation analysis, research tracking, and collaboration. Includes AI assistant: Scopus AI, for enhanced research with natural language searches, summaries, and expert identification.
Google Scholar (with Library Links)

Find scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed journal articles, books, theses and dissertations, conference papers, pre-prints, technical reports, and other publications for all research disciplines. The link enables ASU affiliates to include ASU Library’s full text and InterLibrary Loan Services in a search.
PAIS Index

Indexes global research on public policy and social issues, covering scholarly articles, books, government documents, grey literature, reports, and more. Content in multiple languages.

PAIS International (1976 to present) contains records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
PAIS Archive (1915 to 1976) is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976 and contains over 1.23 million records covering monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Coverage: 1991+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Comprehensive full text source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers, journal articles; policy briefs and economic indicators; links and resources; maps and country data from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. This is an essential resource for serious research into International Affairs.

Alternate titles: Columbia International Affairs Online
Economist Intelligence Unit Viewpoint

Provides data and forecasts about political, economic, and business climates of various regions and up to 200 countries as well as related news, analysis, and risk factor assessments.
Coverage: News and analysis includes 1996 +, statistical data includes 1980 +, and forecasts start from the present and extend up to 5 years into the future.
AI Use is permitted under specific conditions:
1. You may use or apply machine learning and/or artificial intelligence tools, software or products (“AI Tools”), as long as that use falls within the scope of educational purposes, for the purpose of undertaking non-public research, training or teaching by or among ASU (“Permitted AI Research”).
2. Research that involves the development, improvement and/or training of any AI Tools (“AI Research Tools”) may only be undertaken in a secure, ring-fenced environment such that any underlying third party AI tools used are not developed, improved or trained using EIU or EIU content.
3. Except as permitted above in points 1 and 2 above, you may not ingest EIU content in any third party AI Tools.
4. Any Permitted AI Research and AI Research Tools (including related methodologies and code) may not be shared or made available to the public or anyone outside of ASU
Text and Data Mining (TDM):
1. Use of text and data mining tools with the EIU content is permitted as long as the use:
  1. Falls within the scope of educational purposes (“Permitted TDM”); and
  2. The text and data mining tools must not involve the use or training of large language models or have generative artificial intelligence capabilities.
To use AI tools or TDM within permitted uses, you must contact ASU Library Researcher Support to request access to the EIU API.
To conduct research with AI tools or TDM beyond permitted uses, please obtain a license from EIU. Contact ASU Library Researcher Support for details.
Please read the EIU Terms of Use before proceeding.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Diverse perspectives on current social issues, providing viewpoint articles, statistics, news, multimedia, and reference content to support critical thinking and debate
Nexis Uni

Find full text of various newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and journals. Includes company directories, financial reports, biographies, federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions, and news transcripts.
JSTOR

Access millions of articles, books, and primary sources, focusing on back issues of scholarly journals; an essential resource for research in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes AI assistant: JSTOR's interactive research tool.
Access World News

Full-text content from thousands of U.S. and international newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, and business magazines, providing diverse viewpoints on local and global issues.
Roper iPoll

A comprehensive archive of US public opinion data, organized by question, with access to nearly half a million national survey questions. It provides full datasets for bivariate and multivariate analyses. Coverage: 1935+.
ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
ICPSR is an international consortium of academic institutions and research organizations, which provides data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. ICPSR web portal provides access to a data archive of thousands of files of research in the social sciences. Searchable content includes specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Alternate titles: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
CQ Press Library

Provides analysis of political and social policies, country profiles, Congress members, Supreme Court decisions, and statistical data on American politics and current affairs since 1991.