Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Supply Chain Management

Guide to sources for supply chain management research

Transportation Infrastructure

NATIONAL OVERVIEWS

CIA World Factbook
Website: https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html
 

Mergent Online
Database (ASU access only): https://libguides.asu.edu/mergentonline

Includes country profiles with a section on transportation. Access the reports through the Country Profiles drop-down selection menu on the lower right of the screen.
 

State Transportation Statistics
Website: http://www.bts.gov/publications/state_transportation_statistics/

Compiles annual data on each U.S. state's infrastructure, safety, freight movement and passenger travel, vehicles, economy and finance, and energy and the environment. Use the annual reports rather than the map links for the most current data.

Shipping Services Directories

  1. Export.gov: Freight Forwarders
    Website: http://www.export.gov/index.asp

  2. Find a Motor Carrier (U.S.-based carriers)
    Website: http://www.inboundlogistics.com/cms/search-tool/trucking/

  3. Guide to Free Trade Zones and Ports
    Website: http://www.siteselection.com/directories/index.cfm?g=ftz

  4. Logistics Locator
    Website: http://www.logisticslocator.com/

  5. Logistics World: The Worldwide Directory of Transportation and Logistics
    Website: http://www.logisticsworld.com/

  6. Shipping.gr World Shipping Directory
    Website: http://www.ship.gr/

Shipping Costs

  1. Agricultural Transportation
    Website: http://www.ams.usda.gov/AMSv1.0/ams.fetchTemplateData.do?template=TemplateA&navID=AgriculturalTransportation&leftNav=AgriculturalTransportation&page=ATAgriculturalTransportationHome&acct=AMSPW                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        
  2. Logistics Management
    Website: http://www.logisticsmgmt.com/

    Provides articles, blogs and other material on transportation logistics and costs.  Includes regularly updated price trends for rail, water, air, and trucking. To find these use the site's topic index for price trends http://www.logisticsmgmt.com/topic/C38/.

Export Guides

  1. Exporters' Encyclopaedia
    Print Serial

    Provides updated exporting information on 220 world markets.  Information includes: trade regulations, key contacts, transportation, documentation, and marketing insights.
     
  2. Export/Import Procedures and Documentation (2002 ed.)
    E-book (ASU access only                                                                                                                                                                                          
  3. International Trade Compliance Institute
    Website: http://www.tradecomplianceinstitute.org/index.php

    Brings together information on U.S., foreign-country, and multilateral trade laws and regulations and provides links to export market research sources.

Hours and Locations