Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Sustainability

Libguide for the School of Sustainability.

Internet Resources for Water Research

ASU Policy and Procedures Manuals - searchable by keywords.  Try water or sustainable.

ASU Sustainability In Action - This site contains informational press releases about "How ASU is creating and maintaining the interconnectedness with the environment."

Arizona Department of Water Resources

Arizona Water Rights and Laws

ASU Global Institute for Sustainability, Decision Center For a Desert City (DCDC)

DCDC Water Briefings - Summaries and analysis of water-related presentations dating back to 2004!

University of Arizona's Water Research Resources Center - This center hosts a series of publications on Arizona water issues.

City of Phoenix

Where Does Your Water Come From? Provides information of the sources of water for Phoenix Residents.  Also has links to federal and county information on water issues.

Water Quality - Outline water quality and treatment issues for the City of Phoenix.   Has links to other govermental agencies.

U.S. Department of State - Water Usage and the Colorado River - The State Department's informational webpage on "how two countries, seven states and 10 American Indian tribes share a resource vital to survival."

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) - Arizona Water Facts Information on climate change, freshwater supply issues, geographic and climate considerations, population concerns, future plans, and issues specific to Phoenix.

U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) - Water Resources of the United States - The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) collects information needed to understand the Nation's water resources, and provides access to water data, publications, and maps, as well as to recent water projects and events.

Water Education Center and the University of Arizona's Water Research Resources Center - Layperson's Guide to Arizona Water  Provides a history of surface water development, groundwater use, rural water issues, water on Indian reservations, water quality, environmental issues, and stretching supplies.

Water Flow Charts - Ground and surface water withdrawal charts from the Lawerence Livermore National Laboratory.

U.S. Geology Survey and the University of Arizona - Changing Water Use and Demand in the Southwest.  Informational aritcle hosted on the USGS website.

Columbia University - The Water Plight of Phoenix -  A report on the issues of water supply and demand in Phoenix.

Council for Agricultural Science and Technology (CAST) - Water, People, and the Future: Water Availability for Agriculture in the United States.

 


 

Climate - Arizona State Climate Office 

 


 

Groundwater

USGS Water Resources of Arizona

USGS Groundwater depth - Interactive atlas of groundwater levels

Water Resources Information Center (.pdf)  Background information on a new Arizona Groundwater Poster.  I have rushed order a copy of the actual poster for the Map Collection. More Information.

Water Flow Charts - Ground and surface water withdrawal charts from the Lawerence Livermore National Laboratory.

Watershed - Surf Your Watershed - Watershed profile for the lower Salt River.

Pollution - EPA Pollution Locator

Geology - Arizona Geological Survey Geological and ground structure information is available online.

Geological maps are available at the Map Collection.

 


 

Flora and Fauna

U.S. Bureau of Land Management (BLM) GIS data for Arizona - Contains a variety of shapefiles and coverages for ecological, habitat, mineral, and wildlife management areas within Arizona.  (Requires use of GIS software such as ArcGIS Explorer or ArcGIS.)

 


 

Historical Background

Salt River Project Brief history of the Reclamation Act and SRP.

Water Education Center and the University of Arizona's Water Research Resources Center - Layperson's Guide to Arizona Water  Provides a history of surface water development, groundwater use, rural water issues, water on Indian reservations, water quality, environmental issues, and stretching supplies.

Aerial Photography

Landiscor Photo Atlases - 1970 to 2005.  Annual aerial photography and zoning information. Available in the ASU Library Map Collection.

Maricopa County Tax Assessor Aerial Photography - various years, 1986 to 1996 available in the Map Collection.

Maricopa County Flood Control District Historical Aerial Photography, 1930 to 2007.  Scroll down to "View Historical Aerial Photography" under [Flood Control District and Department of Transportation].  This map viewer requires the use of Internet Explorer web browser.

Arizona Imagery Server - Detailed aerial photography from 2005 and 2007.

Hours and Locations