Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Sustainability

Libguide for the School of Sustainability.

Web Links

ASU School of Sustainability - internet resources  This webpage from ASU's School of Sustainability's provides links to internet resources.

American Chemical Society (ACS) - Green Chemistry Institute

American Chemical Society - Green Chemistry Educational Resources  "ACS aims to increase awareness and understanding of Green Chemistry principles, alternatives, practices, and benefits within traditional educational institutions and among practicing scientists. The following resources were developed by the ACS Green Chemistry Institute® and the ACS Education Division."

American Solar Energy Society  "Established in 1954, the nonprofit American Solar Energy Society (ASES) is the nation's leading association of solar professionals & advocates. Our mission is to inspire an era of energy innovation and speed the transition to a sustainable energy economy. We advance education, research and policy."

American Wind Energy Association  "AWEA is a national trade association representing wind power project developers, equipment suppliers, services providers, parts manufacturers, utilities, researchers, and others involved in the wind industry - one of the world's fastest growing energy industries. In addition, AWEA represents hundreds of wind energy advocates from around the world."

American Meteorological Society - Climate Change Information statement from the AMS.

Climatebiz.com: The Business Resource for Climate Management  Advice for businesses on how to manage the climate in environmentally responsible ways. One of the pages is Best Practices, which provides examples from companies and how they are doing responsible climate management. Another useful section is the Backgrounders, which are sections explaining what climate management is, why it is important, and some things that can be done.

New! Climate CoLab "In the Climate CoLab, you can work with people from all over the world to create proposals for what to do about climate change."

Department of Energy  "The Department of Energy's overarching mission is to advance the national, economic, and energy security of the United States; to promote scientific and technological innovation in support of that mission."

National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)  A Department of Energy laboratory, the "NREL is the only federal laboratory dedicated to the research, development, commercialization and deployment of renewable energy and energy efficiency technologies. Backed by 33 years of achievement, NREL leads the way in helping meet the growing demand for clean energy."

Energy Information Administration (Dept. of Energy)  "At the Energy Information Administration, we provide policy-neutral data, forecasts, and analyses to promote sound policy making, efficient markets, and public understanding regarding energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment."

GIS Climate Change Scenarios  From National Center for Atmospheric Research.  For additional information on Geographic Information Systems, please go to the GIS Resources Library Guide.

Social Accountability International  The Social Accountability International organization is focused primarily on workplace conditions throughout the supply chain. They have developed standards for the ethical workplace. The Helpful Linkslists many related organizations, corporate social responsibility, and CSR investing web sites throughout the world.

Smart Growth America  "Smart Growth America is a coalition of national, state and local organizations working to improve the ways we plan and build the towns, cities and metro areas we call home. The coalition includes many of the best-known national organizations advocating on behalf of historic preservation, the environment, farmland and open space preservation, neighborhood revitalization and more."

Corporate Watch  An electronic magazine that is activist in nature. It is the organization of the articles in categories of information that are useful for company based projects that make this site worth mentioning. Also a great source for negative opinions of the companies included. Be sure to look at the various industry guides, the How Do I Use the CorpWatch Research Guide?, the Hands-On Corporate Research Guide, and the Links page. Keep the biases of this site in mind when evaluating the information.

DowJones Sustainability Indexes  "Launched in 1999, the Dow Jones Sustainability Indexes are the first global indexes tracking the financial performance of the leading sustainability-driven companies worldwide. Based on the cooperation of Dow Jones Indexes, STOXX Limited and SAM they provide asset managers with reliable and objective benchmarks to manage sustainability portfolios." The Monthly Update has the indexes with charts. The Factsheets are helpful in explaining the Indexes. The next part does require registration. To see how individual companies and industry sectors are doing, use the

DJSI World Components
DJSI North American Components
DJSI STOXX Components

 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

EPA Climate Change "Climate change is a problem that is affecting people and the environment. Greater energy efficiency and new technologies hold promise for reducing greenhouse gases and solving this global challenge. EPA's website provides information on climate change for communities, individuals, businesses, states, localities and governments."

EPA Sustainability Home Page  "The Sustainability Program of EPA’s Office of Research and Development maintains this Web site to provide one-stop access to EPA and related programs and the latest research and activities related to Urban Sustainability and the Built Environment; Water and Ecosystem Services; Energy, Biofuels and Climate Change; and Materials Management and Human Health."

EPA Sustainable Development in Agriculture   "As part of an initiative to reduce pesticide risks and use, EPA and the United States Department of Agriculture are promoting sustainable agriculture and Integrated Pest Management (IPM) practices, including biological and cultural control systems. USDA supports research and education programs with the cooperation of State Agricultural Experiment Stations and State Cooperative Extension Service staff."

EPA Industry Profiles  "The EPA's Office of Compliance has developed a series of profiles or notebooks containing information on selected major industries. These notebooks, which focus on key indicators that holistically present air, water, and land pollutant release data, have been thoroughly reviewed by experts from both inside and outside the EPA." These are very detailed and take time to review. "Each Notebook brings you comprehensive, well-researched details gathered for the first time in a single source and includ[ing] a comprehensive environmental profile, industrial process information, pollution prevention techniques, pollutant release data, regulatory requirements, compliance/enforcement history, government and industry partnerships, innovative programs, contact names, bibliographic references, and description of research methodology".

EPA National Center of Environmental Assessment  The EPA's National Center for Environmental Assessment (NCEA) "provides guidance and risk assessments aimed at protecting human health and the environment."

EPA Health & Environmental Research Online (HERO) "HERO contains the key studies EPA uses to develop environmental risk assessments for the public. EPA uses risk assessments to characterize the nature and magnitude of health risks to humans and the ecosystem from pollutants and chemicals in the environment."

 

Ethical Consumer  This interesting British site mostly refrains from excessive rhetoric on ethical issues. It is a good site to check your company name against their list of companies included in articles and research. The list includes many US companies. The Links page is also very well organized by ethical issue and includes links to many international organizations.

Experimental Wildfire ABBA Fire Product - the experimental Wildfire Automated Biomass Burning Algorithm (WFABBA) allows viewers to see wild and human generated fires in the Western Hemisphere during the past 24 hours.

GoodMoney Home Page: Social, Ethical and Environmental Investing and Consuming & Corporate Accountability  This is an interesting site. It looks for good money, or those who are trying harder to improve. Everything on this site takes a positive approach to corporate social responsibility.
 

Greenbiz.com: The Resource Center on Business, the Environment, and the Bottom Line

Generally a very good site to find out more about sustainable business. Two of the pages the are worth a more detailed mention:

Greenbiz.com Corporate Web Sites

This is a web site that lists corporation web sites with information about their environmental page or environmental reports of corporations. Companies can be found by name, industry sector, or keyword search. The corporate web pages vary widely in what they include. Some have environmental mission statements. In all cases, the corporate web page puts the company in its best light.

Greenbiz.com Awards Directory

If you are looking for environmental awards, including sustainability and community service, this is the list to use. Some of the awards are for specific geographic areas, such as states, cities, and counties. Awards can be searched by topic, keyword and by award name or sponsor.

NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration) Global Climate Change - Multimedia website that provides evidence, causes, effects, uncertainties, and solutions in regards to Climate Change.

Evidence for Global Warming - Extensive webpage written by NASA guest writer, Dr. Mitchell K. Hobbish.

National Integrated Drought Information System - Information on U.S. drought conditions and forecasts.

National Water Management Center  "The National Water Management Center serves as the production support center for National Resources Conservation Service in providing leadership, direct assistance, information, and technology on water-related issues for natural resources." conservation.

National Resources Conservation Service - Arizona "For several decades, the NRCS has helped the people of Arizona conserve valuable natural resources. We provide services to all private landowners who are interested in restoring and enhancing our wondrous landscape through a unique partnership with landowners, conservation districts, state and local governments, American Indian Nations, and rural and urban citizens."

Native Seeds/SEARCH  "Native Seeds/SEARCH conserves, distributes and documents the adapted and diverse varieties of agricultural seeds, their wild relatives and the role these seeds play in cultures of the American Southwest and northwest Mexico. We promote the use of these ancient crops and their wild relatives by gathering, safeguarding, and distributing their seeds to farming and gardening communities."

Right to Know Network (RTKNet) "The Right-to-Know Network provides free access to numerous databases and resources on the environment. With the information available on RTK NET, you can identify specific factories and their environmental effects; find permits issued under environmental statutes; and identify civil cases filed."

Sustainable Energy in America Factbook 2017  "The Business Council for Sustainable Energy (BCSE) and Bloomberg New Energy Finance (BNEF) have collaborated to document the transformation of the US energy system and the growing contributions of sustainable energy technologies." This is aalso a download PDF file. but it does require free registration..

United Nations Climate Change Portal  Provides information on climate news, world politics, the science of climate change, mitigation efforts, adaptation, technology, financing, negotiations, publications, and how to take action.

U.S. Green Building Council, LEED Rating System  "The Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Green Building Rating System™ encourages and accelerates global adoption of sustainable green building and development practices through the creation and implementation of universally understood and accepted tools and performance criteria."

Walk Score  Rates the walkability of address locations.

Yale Forum on Climate Change & The Media

Ask a Librarian

Hours and Locations