Culture Hero: A Fanzine of Stars of the Super World (SPEC PXL-525): Based in New York City, this self-described fanzine printed as a newspaper is part of ASU's William S. Burroughs Collection. It contains articles, stories and interviews with various people, including Andy Warhol, and a piece authored by Burroughs. This zine worked to capture the culture of the New York art scene of the time; did not take submissions.
Hard Candy Zine: Personal donation of the ASU student club who created this zine (2014). Contains feminist musings with references to ASU student culture. Coming soon to ASU Library Catalog.
Historia Urbana Popular de Tucson (Chicano/a Research Collection, ME CHI H-95): Newspaper layout, contains comic strips from local artists in Tucson, AZ.
Moongate de Homo Sentiens (Chicano/a Research Collection, CE EPH FL-132): A literary zine in newsletter format; accepts contributions (submissions).
Poetry of the People: Mini Anthology One + Two: A Chapbook (two issues; Arizona Collection, Anthem 60; Anthem 58): Poetry and art zine, compiled and edited by Dolli Schneider.
Poncho Magazine (Chicano/a Research Collection, ME CHI R-45): Contains stories, pictures and comics. Pamphlet sized and stapled.
La Roca: You Be the Judge (Chicano/a Research Collection, CE EPH P-306):Created by prisoners. Won multiple awards for prison publication.
Teen Angels (Chicano/a Research Collection, ME CHI O-269): The subject matter is mostly centered on teens or young adults within the chicano/a culture. Features poems, art work, and photographs. Includes ads from local businesses. Multiple issues available. This publication is in publication to this day.
Woman Rising, 1977 (Chicano/a Research Collection, CE EPH RWO-21): Woman-based zine published by an independent press. One issue highlights Wicca.
Xalman (Chicano Research Collection,PS508.M4 X34, ME CHI FL-73): A student-run zine, named after the poetry group that created this publication. Contains poetry from various students, in Spanish and English.
X Press Magazine: Arizona's Alternative Magazine (Arizona Collection,CE EPH FR-193): Small press, independent and local. Contains some local advertisements.
Maker Services at ASU Library
Create your zine with us! The library makerservices provide hands-on experience with equipment and tools free for ASU students, faculty and staff from all disciplines and backgrounds to inspire creativity, innovation and entrepreneurship.
We offer the following services: 3D printing, film and audio studio, 3D scanning, vinyl cutting, book scanning, digital artistry, electronics, and sewing. For more details and reservations (ASU affiliates only), see https://lib.asu.edu/mkr.