Zines
Archived and Online Zines
Alt-PressWatch: Full text database of selected independent newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative press. Provides an alternative to mainstream media perspectives on local, national, and international issues.
Ethnic NewsWatch: Articles from newspapers, newsletters, magazines and academic journals from minority presses including African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish and Native American.
Independent Voices: An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates.
Books about Zines and Zine Making
Use the advanced search to look for by subjects (Zines -- Publishing, Fanzines, Self-publishing, Fan magazines, Underground press publications), either on the ASU Library catalog or WorldCat.
From Staple to Spine: A Compendium of Zine-Related Books: Created and maintained by the Trenton Free Public Library, New Jersey (last updated in 2022).
Journal Articles, Essays, Ebooks
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO): A multidisciplinary article database of mostly English-language popular magazines and scholarly (including peer-reviewed) journals.
Black Women Writers: Literature and essays on feminist issues by authors from Africa and the African diaspora, ranging from the 18th century to the early 21st century.
Gale Power Search: Cross-search content from select Gale products, including Gale's OneFile periodicals, In Context products, and/or eBooks.
JSTOR: Articles, books, and primary sources, focusing on back issues of scholarly journals.
Library Literature and Information Science Index: Articles, books, research reports, and conference proceedings on library and information science.
MLA International Bibliography: Articles in the subjects of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from journals, books, proceedings, dissertations, etc.
|
|
Project MUSE: A collection of peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, nonprofit publishers and scholarly societies. Covers literature and criticism, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, gender studies, etc.
Women's Studies International: Feminist research scholarship published in journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, websites and web documents, and grey literature.
Cite Your Primary Sources: Citing Zines
Adopted from Katie Giari "Cite This Zine", 2009; based on "Cite this Zine" by the Zine Intern, 2006.
In-Text Citation
MLA: Name the author of the zine and add the page number in parentheses at the end of the sentence.
Chicago Manual of Style (first mention or in footnote): Author's first name and last name, Title of Zine, volume or issue number, (City of publication, year of publication), page number(s).
APA: Author's Last Name, first initial. (Year of publication). Title of Zine, [Zine] Volume or issue number.
In a List of Works Cited (Bibliography)
MLA: Author's Last Name, First Name, "Title of Zine." [Zine], Volume or issue number. City of publication. Year of publication.
Chicago Manual of Style: Author's Last Name, First Name. Title of Zine. Zine. Volume or issue number. City of publication: Year of publication.
APA: Name the author of the source (often in a single phrase), the date of publication, and a page number in parentheses at the end of the sentence.