Login to LibApps


Zines: Zine Collections

Discover Zine Titles Collected in Libraries

To discover zine titles collected in libraries, access WorldCat and use the Advanced Search to search "zines" and set up the drop-down menu to Genre/Form under Subject.

Online Collections

Artzines.info: Art zines, some in full-text, accompanied with artists/authors annotations and a separate section for bibliographies. 

Fanzines: Science Fiction Fanzines Online: An aggregating website for online fanzines. Edited by Bill Burns.

Independent Voices (1960s-1980s): Index to independent alternative press, covering feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, gays, lesbians and more.

Zines on ISSU: "A DIY ethos takes many forms on issuu, but nowhere is it more raw, honest and creative than within the thousands of incredible zines found on issuu."

Zinewiki: Arizona Zines: "This is a list of zines from the State of Arizona, U.S.A."

Library Zines Collections

Ailecia Ruscin Zine Collection, 1994-2002, Duke University: 552 zines (1994–2001), collected by the donor, focusing on personal zines by women, politics, the punk music scene, social justice activism, and riot grrrl

Anthony Boucher Fanzine Collection, University of Arizona: Science fiction literature, fandom, fantasy, comics, the horror genre, and general topics.

Bernard College Library, NY: About 4,000 issues.

Bingham Center Zine Collections, Duke University: Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture.

The Eaton Collection of Science Fiction and Fantasy, UC at Riverside: About 100,000 fanzines.

Edwin and Terry Murray Fanzine Collection, 1952-2003, Duke University Library: Contains approximately 1150 comic book, science fiction and fantasy fanzines representing fandom in these genres from the early 1950s to 2003.

Harvard Univeristy Magazines and Zines Collection

Havelin Fanzines Collection, University of Iowa Libraries: 10,000 fanzines, 1930s–1950s. Finding aids available.

M. Horvat Collection of Science Fiction Fanzines, University of Iowa (19252002): About 15,00020,000 items; chronicling "the evolution, growth and development of science fiction fandom from its early organization in the 1920s through the various iterations of fandom that occurred over the subsequent decades."

Paskow Science Fiction Collection, Temple University Libraries: Includes the Enterprising Women Fan Fiction Collection (EWFFC), fanzines, underground, and circuit literature written, designed, produced and distributed by female fans of science fiction media teleplays, actors, and characters.

Prelinger Library: A zine collection of about 10,000 items, not fully processed. Prelinger Library is an independent research library in San Francisco. 

Susan Smith-Clarke Fanzine Collection, National Library of Australia.

Temple Univeristy Libraries

University of Connecticut Libraries Fanizne Collection: 19451985 American and West European fanizes

University of Kansas: A big zine collection, based on acquisition of the Solidarity! Revolutionary Center and Radical Library.

University of Texas: Includes links to additional zine collections in Texas.

The Walter Coslet collection, University of Maryland-Baltimore County: Over 15,000 fanzines (19371972), searchable in a dedicated catalog.

Hours and Locations