Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Southeast Asian Studies

Library research guide for Southeast Asia Collection

Online Journals and Magazines

Far Eastern Survey, 1935-1961.

Asian Survey (supersedes Far Eastern Survey), 1961-2005.

Asian Survey (current issues),  2002 to date.

biblioasia (2005-to date) the National Library of Singapone

Journal of Lao Studies new publication from the Center for Lao Studies.

Journal of Indonesian Social Sciences and Humanities from 2008 (volume 1) to date.

Bulletin of Indonesian Economic Studies  from 1998 with a 12 month embargo by publisher.

Southeast Asian Studies from the Center for Southeast Asian Studies, Kyoto University

South East Asia Research online from 2000. In print from 1994 to date.

 Irrawaddy Magazine covering Burma and Southeast Asia.

eBooks and eResearch Papers

The ARI Working Paper Series is an online publication resource for the swift and wide dissemination of pre-publication research papers, many of which are subsequently published as journal articles and book chapters elsewhere. 

Asia Foundation. There are many resources available from the Asia Foundation. This link is to thier publications page. Many of the these publications are free and downable PDFs.

The Cambridge History of Southest Asia, Volume 1 covers Southeast Asian history from prehistory until 1800CE. (eBook)

The Cambridge History of Southeast Asia, Volume 2 covers Southeast Asian History during the 19th and 20th centuries. (eBook)

Southeast Asia in world history / Craig Lockard; New York: Oxford University Press, 2009 (eBook)

The art of not being governed: and anarchist history of upland Southeast Asia/ James C. Scott; New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 2009 (eBook)

Women in modern Burma  / Tharaphi Than; New York : Routledge, 2014 (eBook)

 
   

Databases

OAPEN is dedicated to promoting Open Access. This database contains academic eBooks in the humanities and social sciences. This collection includes over 30 titles from KITLV on Indonesia.

Catalog of Early Malay Printed Books. Edited and composed by Ian Proudfoot. A provisional account of materials printed in the Singapore-Malaysia area up to 1920.

Digital Library of Lao Manuscripts contains images of almost 12,000 texts covering a range of historical topics.

IPI Indonesian Publication Index is designed for browsing, indexing, abstracting, monitoring and improving the standard of scholarly publications in Indonesia. Currently, there are over 2500 Indonesian journals for inclusion in the IPI database.

EThOS (Eelctronic Theses Online Service) A service of the British Library containing digitized UK theses and dissertations.

Myanmar Book Centre contains articles, journals, eBooks, and digitized newspapers covering all aspects of Myanmar history, culture, and literature.

ScholarBank@NUS is the institutional repository of National University of Singapore. It seeks to harness the intellectual capital of NUS, transform the present and influence the future. This repository collects and preserves the scholarly output of NUS and makes it accessible worldwide.

UNdata: A World of Information The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point.  

 

Hours and Locations