Login to LibApps


Southeast Asian Studies: HST 240 - Introduction to Southeast Asia

Library research guide for Southeast Asia Collection

e-Journals and News Sources

There are lots of news sources on the web. The ones selected below have international editions.

To find eJournals and Print Journals you begin on the Libraries' homepage under Articles and click on Journal Title Lookup. Once there you'll see both a lookup for eJournals and a lookup for Print Journals.

Videos

The library subscribes to FMG On Demand a database of over 5000 video streamed educational documentaries. I have selected a few but you can search the database for other videos on Southeast Asia.

 

Citing Sources and Academic Integraty

If you are having poblems understanding how to cite sources the Ctation Styles Libguide will help. Also you may want to take a look at ASU's policies on Academic Integrity especially plagiarism.

Tutorials

ASU Library has a number of tutorials available. They are usually short (4 minutes or less) and focus on problems you may run into as you research and write your papers. They can be found on the Library's home page under Services for Students or at Tutorials. I selected a few that might be helpful:

Databases

ASU Library subscribes to over 400 databases. On the Libraries' homepage under Articles you can search for articles, select a specific database or look up an e-Journal by title. Though there are many databases that might be useful I have selected several to get you started in your research.

eBooks and Print Books

Below are a few selected titles (some ebooks and some print). You can find more by searching in the online catalog.

Southeast Asia in World History/ Craig Lockard; Oxford University press, 2009 (eBook)

The Cambridge History of Southest Asia, Volume 1 covers Southeast Asian history from prehistory until 1800CE (eBook). Print available at Hayden and West at call number DS 525 .T37 1992 v.1.

The Cambridge History of Southeast Asia, Volume 2 covers Southeast Asian History during the 19th and 20th centuries. (eBook)

Southeast Asia and the Vietnam War / Ang Cheng Suan; New York: Routledge, 2010 (eBook) 

Islam and politics in Southeast Asia / edited by Johan Saravanamuttu; New York: Routledge, 2010. BP 63. A38 I83 2010

The politics of religion in South and Southeast Asia/ edited by Ishtiaq Ahmed. New York, NY: Routledge, 2011

Library One Search

Library One Search  

Additional "Library One Search" Pages


For convenient access to major library resources consider installing the latest ASU Library Toolbar into your web browser.
Our toolbar allows you to easily search Library One Search, the ASU Library Catalog, the content of our LibGuides, proxied Google Scholar and the open-access WorldCat catalog/database.

Subject Guide

Ralph Gabbard's picture
Ralph Gabbard
Contact:
C1U Hayden Library
Tempe
480-965-0620

RefWorks

RefWorks is a user-friendly database system that allows you to manage your citations via the Web. It is now site-licensed for Arizona State University students, faculty, staff and affiliates. With RefWorks, you're able to create, search and maintain your own personal citations database. These citations can then be easily inserted in papers or publications, and are automatically added to bibliographies in multiple citation styles

Use of RefWorks requires users to sign up for an individual account at their Website. Keep your Refworks UserID and password handy, and always authenticate from off-campus by entering through the ASU authentication page. First-time users must subscribe for an individual account from this page before accessing your citation management software.

Keep your UserID and password safe! ASU does not have access to the RefWorks system to reset passwords. If you lose your password, follow the reset link on the authentication page.

To get started, use this link: RefWorks.

Hours and Locations