Login to LibApps


Southeast Asian Studies: SGS 494

Library research guide for Southeast Asia Collection

e-Journals and News Sources

There are lots of news sources on the web. The ones selected below have international editions.

To find eJournals and Print Journals you begin on the Libraries' homepage under Articles and click on Journal Title Lookup. Once there you'll see both a lookup for eJournals and a lookup for Print Journals.Below are a few eJournal titles to get you started.

Videos

The library subscribes to FMG On Demand a database of over 5000 video streamed educational documentaries. I have selected a few but you can search the database for other videos on Indonesia.

Global Jihad - segments Threat of Jemaah Islamiyah and Southeast Asia; Terrorism Battlefield

The Battle for Islam - segments 5 through 8

Islamic Resurgence and Holy War: The Former Soviet Union and Indonesia - Segments 10-12

Asia: Staking Out Terror's Breeding Grounds

Tutorials

ASU Library has a number of tutorials available. They are usually short (4 minutes or less) and focus on problems you may run into as you research and write your papers. They can be found on the Library's home page under Services for Students or at Tutorials. I selected a few that might be helpful:

Databases

ASU Library subscribes to over 400 databases. On the Libraries' homepage under Articles you can search for articles, select a specific database or look up an e-Journal by title. Though there are many databases that might be useful I have selected several to get you started in your research.

 

eBooks and Print Books

Below are a few selected titles (some ebooks and some print). You can find more by searching in the online catalog.

Overcoming Violent conflict :  2005.  Hayden: DS615 .O94 2005  in five volumes

The evolving terrorist threat to Southeast Asia: a net assessment/ Peter Chalk; Santa Monica, CA: RAND Corp., 2009. eBook and print in Hayden: HV 6433.A785 E86 2009

Conflict and Development Program has a number of downloadable titles dealing with Indonesia and violence.

Defending the majesty of Islam: Indonesia's Front Pembela Islam, 1998-2003/ Jajang Jahroni. 2008. Hayden: BP 63.I5 J34 2008

Muslims and tolerance: non-Muslim minorities under Shariah in Indonesia/ Pramono U. Tanthowi. 2008. Hayden: BP 171.5 T36 2008

When searching in the catalog you can use Subject Terms for example using Subject Violence - Indonesia you will find the following:

Counting conflicts : using newspaper reports to understand violence in Indonesia / Patrick Barron, Joanne Sharpe. Publisher Washington, D.C. : World Bank, 2005. In OPAC online and in print Hayden: HN 710.Z9 S623 2005

 Roots of violence in Indonesia : contemporary violence in historical perspective / edited by Freek Colombijn and J. Thomas Lindblad. Publisher Leiden : KITLV Press, 2002.  Hayden: HN 710.Z9 V57 2002


Or the term Subject Terrorism – Indonesia

Allah's Torch : A Report From Behind The Scenes In Asia's War On Terror / Tracy Dahlby.  New York : William Morrow, c2005. Hayden: HV 6433.I5 D34 2005

Different Societies, Shared Futures : Australia, Indonesia And The Region / edited By John Monfries. Singapore : Institute of Southeast Asian Studies, 2006. Hayden: DU 113.5 I4 D54 2006

Indonesia's Struggle : Jemaah Islamiyah And The Soul Of Islam / Greg Barton. 
Sydney : UNSW Press, 2004. Hayden: HV 6433.I5 B37 2004


 Jemaah Islamiyah : Radical Islamism In Indonesia / Greg Barton. 
Singapore : Ridge Books, 2005.  Hayden: BP63.I5 B37 2005

 Save Our Country From Terrorism / Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono.
[Jakarta] : Coordinating Ministry for Political and Security Affairs, 2002. Hayden: HV 6433.I5 Y874 2002

Subject Guide

Ralph Gabbard's picture
Ralph Gabbard
Contact:
C1U Hayden Library
Tempe
480-965-0620

RefWorks

RefWorks is a user-friendly database system that allows you to manage your citations via the Web. It is now site-licensed for Arizona State University students, faculty, staff and affiliates. With RefWorks, you're able to create, search and maintain your own personal citations database. These citations can then be easily inserted in papers or publications, and are automatically added to bibliographies in multiple citation styles

Use of RefWorks requires users to sign up for an individual account at their Website. Keep your Refworks UserID and password handy, and always authenticate from off-campus by entering through the ASU authentication page. First-time users must subscribe for an individual account from this page before accessing your citation management software.

Keep your UserID and password safe! ASU does not have access to the RefWorks system to reset passwords. If you lose your password, follow the reset link on the authentication page.

To get started, use this link: RefWorks.

Hours and Locations