Southeast Asian Studies

There are lots of news sources on the web. The ones selected below have international editions.

• CNN
• BBC
• New York Times
• The Straits Times

To find eJournals and Print Journals, as well as newspsers, you begin on the Libraries' homepage under Articles and click on Journal Title Lookup. Once there you'll see both a lookup for eJournals and a lookup for Print Journals.Below are a few eJournal titles to get you started.

Contemporary Southeast Asia (1997 to date)

United Nations provides publications, country profiles (There are two ways to search this. On the left hand side of the page scroll down till you find the country you are interested in, the second is to type the county's name in the box on the top of the page. The UN provides an abundence of useful information about Southeast Asian countries. In addition each member of the UN). In addition, most members have web pages with additional information about their countries.

World Bank Publications

The library subscribes to FMG On Demand a database of over 5000 video streamed educational documentaries. Search either under the general subject (Southeast Asia) or by individual countries. Here are several of interest on Southeast Asian themes:

• Jouneys into Islamic Southeast Asia (47 minutes) follows the traders who introduced Islam into Southeast Asia.
• Global Jihad (22 minutes) examies the rise of al Qaeda-style fundamentalism in Southeast Asia.
• The Diplomat: Jose Ramos Horta and East Timor's fight for independence (58 minutes)
• Thailand: King, Combat, and Ad Karabao (48 minutes). Though done in 1998 this video provides a brief overview of Thailand.

ASU Library has a number of tutorials available. They are usually short (4 minutes or less) and focus on problems you may run into as you research and write your papers. They can be found on the Library's home page under Services for Students or at Tutorials. I selected a few that might be helpful:

• Article Types
• Peer-Reviewed/Referred Articles
• Empirical/Primary Research Articles

An important LibGuide is the Academic Integrity LibGuide. Other useful LibGuides are:

• Buddhist Studies LibGuide
• Islamic Studies LibGuide (Islam in Southeast Asia)

ASU Library subscribes to over 400 databases. On the Libraries' homepage under Articles you can search for articles, select a specific database or look up an e-Journal by title. Though there are many databases that might be useful I have selected several to get you started in your research.

• CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online
• Academic Search Premier
• ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) Annual Report
• Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
• Nexis Uni

Below are a few selected titles (some ebooks and some print). You can find more by searching in the online catalog.

Southeast Asia in World History/ Craig Lockard; Oxford University press, 2009 (eBook)

The Cambridge History of Southeast Asia, Volume 2 covers Southeast Asian History during the 19th and 20th centuries. Print available at Hayden and West call number DS 525 .T37 1992 v.2

Colonial Legacies: economic and social development in East and Southeast Asia/ Anne Booth; University of Hawaii Press, 2007. Hayden and West stacks, call number HC 441 .B64 2007