Skip to main content

Geographical Sciences: Biographies

This guide contains information on selected resources for research in Geography. It includes both print and electronic resources. Many electronic resources, such as indexes and journals, are available to ASU-affiliated users only.

Biographies - General

Baker, Daniel B., ed., 1993. Explorers and discoverers of the World.
HAYDEN REFERENCE G200 .E96x 1993

Barton, Thomas Frank. 1992. Leaders in American geography.
SCIENCE 3rd FLOOR G67 .B37 1992 v. 1

Buttimer, Anne, 1983. The practice of geography.
SCIENCE 3rd FLOOR G67 .B87 1983

Freeman, T. W., 1977 - Present. Geographers: biobibliographical studies.
SCIENCE REFERENCE G67 .G44x

Larkin, Robert P. and Peters, Gary L., 1993. Biographical dictionary of geography.
SCIENCE 3rd FLOOR G67 .L37 1993

Smith, Ben A. 2003. American geographers, 1784-1812: a bio-bibliographical guide.
SCIENCE 3rd FLOOR G67 .S65 2003

Biographies - Cartography

Karrow, Robert W. 1993. Mapmakers of the sixteenth century and their maps : bio-bibliographies of the cartographers of Abraham Ortelius, 1570 : based on Leo Bagrow's A. Ortelii Catalogus cartographorum.
SCIENCE MAP REFERENCE GA198 .K37x 1993

 

Tooley, R. V. A dictionary of mapmakers, including cartographers, geographers, publishers, engravers, etc., from earliest times to 1900.
SCIENCE 2nd FLOOR GA101 .M3 no. 16 v.1; no. 28 v. 2; no. 40 v. 3; no. 50 v.4; no. 67 v.5; no. 78 v. 6

 

Tooley, R. V., 1979. Tooley's Dictionary of mapmakers.
SCIENCE MAP REFERENCE GA198 .T66

 

Tooley, R. V., 1985. Tooley's Dictionary of mapmakers: Supplement.
SCIENCE MAP REFERENCE GA198 .T66 Suppl.

Hours and Locations