Skip to main content

Geographical Sciences: Internet Resources

This guide contains information on selected resources for research in Geography. It includes both print and electronic resources. Many electronic resources, such as indexes and journals, are available to ASU-affiliated users only.

Internet Resources

Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States

GIS Resources

2010 Census Data Products and Timeline

Decision Center for a Desert City

David Rumsey Historical Map Collection

GAP Analysis Land Cover Viewer (and raster data downloads)

Geospatial Conversion Tools from the Bureau of Econonomic Geography.  Convert length, area, DegMinSec, Scale, Radians, and Time to GPS Seconds.

History of Cartography Project

Atlas of Historic County Boundaries - From the Newberry Library, the atlas contains shapefiles, KMLs, and PDFs of the changing boundaries of the counties within the United States.

USGS - Mapping

USGS - Geography

USGS - Online Soil Surveys of Arizona

National Climate Data Center

NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration) Global Climate Change- Multimedia website that "provides evidence, causes, effects, uncertainties and solutions in regards to Climate Change."

AZMET Weather Data. Arizona Meteorological Network. 

Western Regional Climate Center. Desert Research Institute.

CLIMAS - Climate Assessment for the Southwest

Cooperative Institute for Meteorological Satellite Studies - "CIMSS scientists produce data and imagery which they make available on the web as a service to others." Includes Atmospheric Emitted Radiance Interferometer (AERI) Products, CIMSS Regional Assimilation System Forecast (CRAS), CLAVR-x Near Real-Time Results, Clear Sky Global Training Database for Hyperspectral and Multi-spectral Atmospheric Retrievals, Fire Monitoring Satellite Images, Global IR Emissivity, GOES Realtime Derived Products, GOES Weighting Functions, Google Earth Imagery, Hurricane and Tropical Storm Images, IDEA: Infusing satellite Data into Environmental Applications, Mesoscale winds, MODIS Today, MODIS Direct Broadcast Products, Polar Satellite Meteorology, and Storm Tracker.

2011 Tornado Information.  NOAA (Nation Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) statistics and analysis of tornado activity for 2011.  Many links to other weather information.

Tornado FAQsNOAA answer guide on tornado basics, historical tornadoes, climatology data, and research information.

Tornadoes... Nature's Most Violent Storms. Information from NASA the weather conditions that cause tornadoes and preparedness measures.

National Park Maps.  High resolution maps scanned and online.

 

Guides to Graduate Study in Geography

 ASU School of Geographical Sciences & Urban Planning

 Geography Departments Worldwide

Association of American Geographers. Guide to geography programs in North America.
SCIENCE MAP REFERENCE G76.5.U5 G8

Peterson's graduate programs in the humanities, arts & social sciences.
HAYDEN REFERENCE L 901 .P443

Peterson's graduate programs in the physical sciences, mathematics, agricultural sciences, the environment & natural resources..
HAYDEN REFERENCE L 901 .P445

Newsgroups & Listservers

The Virtual Geography Department - Newsgroups & Listservers

Hours and Locations