Using ArtStor at ASU
Viewing Object Data
You can view full information about an object by clicking the “View Full Record” link next to an image in large thumbnail view, or by double-clicking the caption text underneath the thumbnail image in small thumbnail view. A new window will open with the object data (e.g., creator, title, repository, etc).
The File Properties tab contains information on the digital file, i.e. the Media Data. You will find information like Image ID, Format, File Name, Width, Height, and Image URL. This tab will also mention the collection that contributed the digital file, e.g., UCSD (University of California at San Diego Slide Collection. The field titled “Image URL” contains a stable URL for the image that you are viewing, which you can copy and paste directly into a browser, or send it as an email to a colleague. When the person receiving that email clicks on the link for that URL, they will be taken directly to the large resolution image, displayed in the Image Viewer.
The Instructor’s Commentary tab provides a space for you to add notes to an image file. (You can only do this with Instructor Level privileges). These notes can later be searched by users who are registered to access the folder that contains this image. If you do not want your commentary to be viewable, choose the "Hide" radio button on the bottom right. To make these notes visible and searchable to other users accessing your image folder, check the “Public” radio button.
The Personal Notes tab provides a space for you to add notes to an image file for personal use. These notes can only be viewed and searched by you.
More on image data in ARTstor (from the ARTstor Help wiki)
Subject Guide
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
