PSY 290 Research Methods in Psychology
Need more help?
Literature Review | Peer-Reviewed | Empirical Research
A literature review is an account of what has been published on a topic by accredited scholars and researchers. You might be asked to write one as a separate assignment, but more often, it is part of the introduction to an essay, research report, or thesis. When writing the literature review, your purpose is to convey to your reader what knowledge and ideas have been established on a topic and the strengths and weaknesses of that topic. As a piece of writing, the literature review must be defined by a guiding concept (e.g., your research objective, the problem or issue you are discussing, or your argumentative thesis). It is not just a descriptive list of the material available or a set of summaries.
Grant and Booth (2009) called identified this process as the SALSA Framework. Seach, AppraisaL, Synthesis, and Analysis. By identifying and analyzing current research, the writer can identify themes, gaps and/or inconsistencies to demonstrate where future research is needed. Results can be demonstrated either chronologically, thematically or conceptually (Cronin, Ryan, & Coughlan, 2008).
Cronin, P., Ryan, F., & Coughlan, M. (2008). Undertaking a literature review: a step-by-step approach. British Journal of Nursing 17(1), 38-43. DOI: 10.12968/bjon.2008.17.1.28059.
Grant, M.J. and Booth, A. (2009), A typology of reviews: an analysis of 14 review types and associated methodologies. Health Information & Libraries Journal, 26: 91-108. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1471-1842.2009.00848.x
Additional Resources:
Conducting Your Literature Review A step-by-step guide to writing a Literature Review (ebook)
Taylor, D. The literature review: A few tips on conducting it. University of Toronto Health Sciences Writing Centre.
You can limit your search results to Literature Reviews in PsycINFO:
Is the article peer-reviewed?Use Ulrich's Periodical Directory (Ulrichsweb) to find out:
This is the symbol that tells you a journal is peer-reviewed in Ulrichsweb: |
 |
Empirical research is based on observed and measured phenomena and derives knowledge from actual experience rather than from theory or belief.
How do you know if a study is empirical? Read the subheadings within the article, book, or report and look for a description of the research "methodology." Ask yourself: Could I recreate this study and test these results?
Key characteristics to look for:
- Specific research questions to be answered:
- Definition of the population, behavior, or phenomena being studied
- Description of the process used to study this population or phenomena, including selection criteria, controls, and testing instruments (such as surveys)
Another hint: some scholarly journals use a specific layout called the "IMRaD" format (Introduction – Method – Results – and – Discussion) to communicate empirical research findings. Such articles typically have four components:
- Introduction: sometimes called "literature review" -- what is currently known about the topic -- usually includes a theoretical framework and/or discussion of previous studies
- Methodology: sometimes called "research design" -- how to recreate the study -- usually describes the population, research process, and analytical tools
- Results: sometimes called "findings" -- what was learned through the study -- usually appears as statistical data or as substantial quotations from research participants
- Discussion: sometimes called "conclusion" or "implications" -- why the study is important -- usually describes how the research results influence professional practices or future studies
Empirical research is published in books and scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. It is NOT found in popular magazines or newspapers.
Make sure to select the peer-review box within each database!
Credit: Los Angeles Harbor College Library, Jonathon Lee
You can limit your search in PsycINFO to empirical studies:
When using databases that do not provide a methodology filter — experiment with using keywords to retrieve articles on your topic that contain empirical research rather than from theory or belief.
| empirical research | observation |
| empirical study | survey |
| quantitative study | questionnaire |
| longitudinal study | methods |
| study | methodology |
| studies | subject |
| experiment | participants |
Here are some suggested keywords for retrieving articles that include qualitative research.
| qualitative | "case study" |
| ethnograph* | narrative |
| interview* | "focus group" |
| observation* | "phenomenological research" |
| survey | "conversation analysis" |
| questionnaire |
Indexing | Abstracts
What is the difference between abstracting and indexing?
**NOTE** PsycINFO is both an indexing and abstracting database.
An abstracting database prepares a summary of the core content of documents to enable users to determine whether or not they need to read the entire text. An abstract is a shortened version of the original piece. They are often accessible via a subscription and will be on a particular subject, or selection of subjects.
An indexing service analyses the content of documents and provides a guide to the information contained in them. It will contain subject terms and headings while also describing the content and main themes. An indexed document also enables users to locate the original.
In essence, indexes provide entries that enable you to locate information, while abstracts summarize content while ensuring that all the essential details are included.
What do indexes do?
- Enable users to familiarize themselves with a document and decide if they need to explore it further.
- Act as a selection guide to content
- Are a tool for document analysis
- Create a link between users and the creator of the original information
- Save time – it is much easier for a user to find relevant information when it is indexed
- Make the information widely available and easy to access
- Act as in information retrieval tool for organizations such as libraries and archives
What do abstracts do?
- Assist readers in deciding whether or not to read a full text
- Enable users to note the important findings on a topic – abstracts contain complete bibliographic citations, so they are useful when it comes to writing up research
- Allow librarians/readers to locate information quickly and to cross-reference
- Save time because researchers can have a clear overview of a document without having to read the entire text
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
