Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

PSY 290 Research Methods in Psychology

This guide highlight key resources needed to complete assignments in PSY290 course across ASU, including online. Learn how to find peer-reviewed journal articles, cite materials using APA Style and more.

Topic Ideas

APA Topics

The APA maintains this site with links to topics of general interest. Each topic has a brief definition and links to additional resources, including; What You Can Do, Getting Help, News, APA Monitor Articles, and Books. Scroll to the bottom of the page for over 80 topic categories.

Topic Guides

Topic Guides are brief handouts designed to demonstrate how APA databases can be used to search for resources in various topic areas. They contain sample search scenarios and a list of selected Index Terms from the APA Thesaurus. 

Reference Resources and Background Information

Use reference materials to find background information.  Reference books can help you:

  • Explore a topic: discover what has been said about this subject, trends, issues, etc.
  • Identify and define unfamiliar terms or people in your reading
  • Find references to other books and articles on the subject
  • Find specific keywords to use in online searches

Encyclopedias | Dictionaries | Handbooks

Using encyclopedias and dictionaries will help you get a quick, reliable overview of your topic, references, specialized vocabulary or keywords, information on theories or theorists, and suggestions for further research. Handbooks offer a more comprehensive overview than an encyclopedia or dictionary and provide information about critical researchers in specific areas of study, keywords, and references to high-quality sources. Those listed here are just a few offered in the ASU Library catalog. You can also view our list of databases for encyclopedias and dictionaries. Need help finding more? Use our ASK A LIBRARIAN chat service. 

ACA Encyclopedia of Counseling (eBook) Encyclopedia of Mental Health (eBook) 
American Masculinities a Historical Encyclopedia (eBook)  Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology (eBook) 
Comprehensive Clinical Psychology (Encyclopedia) (eBook)  Encyclopedia of Political Behavior (eBook) 
Encyclopedia of Adolescence (eBook) Encyclopedia of Psychology and Law (eBook) 
Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology (eBook)  Encyclopedia of Psychology (Gale) (eBook) 
Encyclopedia of Body Image and Human Appearance Volume 2 (eBook) Encyclopedia of Psychology and Religion (eBook) 
Encyclopedia of Clinical Psychology (eBook)  Encyclopedia of Psychotherapy (eBook) 
Encyclopedia of Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (eBook)  Encyclopedia of Religious and Spiritual Development (eBook) 
Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology (eBook)  Encyclopedia of School Psychology (eBook) 
Encyclopedia of Giftedness, Creativity, and Talent (eBook)  Encyclopedia of Stress (eBook) 
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior (eBook)  International Encyclopedia of Intercultural Communication (eBook) 
Encyclopedia of Human Development (eBook) International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (eBook) 
Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Development (eBook) SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Psychology (eBook) 
Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics (eBook)  SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans Studies (eBook)

 

You can consult the APA Dictionary of Psychology for a quick reference to psychological terms.: https://dictionary.apa.org

How To: Cite a dictionary in APA format: APA Style | Dictionary Entry References

How to search for APA Handbooks:

More specific than an encyclopedia, handbooks contain 'executive summaries' and provide in-depth coverage. The APA publishes over 30 handbooks. Search our APA Ebook Collection and select APA Handbooks on the left menu to access them.

Oxford Handbooks Online also offers several psychology-related options. 

Below are a few examples of titles available: 

Formulating Your Question

      

Subjects: Psychology

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.