CED 501 / CPY 702: Research and Evaluation in Counseling
LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that simplifies and streamlines access to the ASU Library's subscription resources. It automatically provides links to full-text content for articles subscribed to by ASU Library (or open-access alternatives) as you research on the web and comes across the literature. In each case, Nomad checks with our OneSearch tool to figure out the fastest path to content across thousands of publisher websites. PubMed and Wikipedia search results are also enhanced.
- Browser Extension LibKey NomadThis browser extension will provide instant links to full text content for articles subscribed to by ASU Library as you search the web.
- Download LibKey Nomad browser extensionScroll to the bottom of this page to select your preferred browser
Zotero
Zotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is an application that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use, connects with your web browser to automatically download sources, and is entirely free. Zotero was created for the Firefox browser and can be used with Chrome. It allows you to attach PDFs, notes, and images to your citations, organize them into collections, tag them with keywords for different projects, and use over 8,000 citation styles to create bibliographies. Zotero lets you access your research from any web browser to synchronize your data across devices. It also supports collaboration and sharing—you can co-create papers or bibliographies and share materials with as many people as you’d like.
Interactive Tutorial
Use the Downloading and Installing Zotero tutorial for a step-by-step, interactive experience that will lead you through the process of installing the software on your PC or Mac.
Text-Only Instructions
Follow the instructions below to install Zotero on your computer.
- Using either the Firefox or Chrome browser, begin at the Zotero site.
- Click on the red “Download” button in the center of the screen.
- Note.The site determines whether you’re using a Mac or a PC that’s running either Chrome or Firefox.
- From the pop-up window, click the blue “Download” button under “Zotero 5.0 for PC” or “Zotero 5.0 for Mac.”
- Note. When you download Zotero, you’re also adding a Zotero tab to Microsoft Word and, if you’re using Chrome, a Zotero tab to Google Docs.
- Click the blue “Install Chrome Connector” or “Install Firefox Connector” button under “Zotero Connector.” This will add a button to your browser that makes collecting citations very simple.
- Once you've downloaded and opened Zotero, you will see an empty Zotero dashboard.
There are a few different ways to add citations to Zotero.
1. Magic Wand Tool
If you click the magic wand icon (Add Items by Identifier) at the top of the dashboard, you can enter ISBNs, DOIs, PMIDs, or arXiv IDs to automatically add items to your library.
2. Manual Creation
Another way to get citations into Zotero is to create them manually. If you click the plus icon at the top of the dashboard (New Item), you can choose a source and then type in information about the citation in the right pane of Zotero.
3. Drag and Drop
If you happen to have any PDFs on your desktop or in your downloads, you can simply drag them into Zotero, which will extract citation information from them.
4. Zotero Connector
The simplest way to add citations to Zotero is to use the Zotero Connector that you downloaded earlier. It should appear as a small icon at the top right of your browser window. You can use the Connector to add citations and, when they’re available, PDFs.
If you have a whole page of results, the icon will appear as a folder. When you click on it, you will be able to add any of the citations from your page of results to Zotero.
If you are looking at a single result, the icon will appear as a paper. When you click on it, you will be able to add that citation to Zotero.
You can collect citations in this way from any of the library’s databases, Google Scholar, Wikipedia, or other places on the web where you can find articles, books, archival materials, websites, etc.
In Zotero, citations are organized in folders that are called “libraries.”
Any time you add a citation, it is automatically added to your “My Library.” You can then create additional libraries and copy any or all of the citations in “My Library” to other libraries that you create.
You can create a library for a specific paper or writing project and fill it with all the citations that you might need for it.
You can also add tags to individual citations and then search by those tags. When you add new citations to Zotero, many of them come with tags that were assigned by authors or publishers.
If you click on a citation, you’ll see a pane on the right side of Zotero that shows “Info,” “Notes,” “Tags,” and “Related.”
You can add new tags here, as well as write notes about each citation for your own personal use.
When you downloaded Zotero, you downloaded a Zotero tab for Word. (If you used Chrome, you also downloaded a Zotero tab for Google Docs.)
1. Open a New Document
When you open a new document in Word, you’ll see a tab for Zotero. If you click on it and then on “Add/Edit Citation,” you can begin adding in-text citations to your document.
2. Set Up a Citation Style
The first time you click it, you will set up which citation style you’ll be using in your document. While there are about twenty preloaded citation styles, you have access to thousands more. You can also change the citation style you’ve chosen at any point, including after you’ve completed your document.
3. Insert Citations
Once you’ve set up your preferred citation style, you insert each citation by clicking the “Add/Edit Citation” button and beginning to type a title or author. Once the correct one appears, click enter and an in-text citation will appear. You can continue adding citations as you write.
4. Add a Bibliography
Once you’ve added at least one citation, you can put your cursor near the end of the document and click on the “Add/Edit Bibliography” button to add a bibliography. Even after doing this, you can continue to add new in-text citations and they will appear in the bibliography.
While you must have a desktop version of Zotero on your main computer, you can also link your account to an online version.
Online Zotero allows you to sync all of your citations so that they’re also stored in the cloud. In addition, you can create groups to share citations with others.
- Go to the Zotero website.
- Click on “Log in” and then “Register for a free account.”
- Once you’ve done this, you can click on the curved arrow icon in the upper right corner of Zotero desktop and follow the instructions to link your desktop and online Zotero.
Whenever you add new citations to Zotero, you can click the curved arrow to sync your accounts.
You can also create or join groups to share citations with others using online Zotero.
How To: Request Articles Not Available @ ASU
If you cannot locate the full-text article, click the 
button to see if ASU Library owns the article in another database.
if not online at ASU Library...
Choose the InterLibrary Loan (ILLIAD Service) option to order your article. Click on "Expand My Results." It will be delivered to you through your Illiad account online.
How To Find DOI's
How to: locate articles at ASU using DOI
Almost all journal articles now have DOIs, but that wasn't always the case. It is common practice for the DOI to be clearly printed on the first page of the journal article. But what if it's not? The fact that a DOI does not appear in the article itself does not necessarily mean it doesn't have one. It may be that the publisher has gone back and retroactively assigned DOIs to all of their older issues. What is the best way to start your search? The answer really is "whatever works best for you!" But here are the best possibilities for you to check:
- Check the PDF of the article itself and see if the DOI appears on the article's front page.
- Go to www.crossref.org. Put the title of the article in the "search metadata" box. The DOI will show on the results page. (This is also demonstrated in the video.)
- Look up the article in PsycInfo. Once you find the record, click "abstract/details." Scroll down, and you'll see the DOI field toward the bottom of the record. (This is shown in the video.)
- Look at the publisher's website for that journal and look for the article or abstract. If they have retroactively assigned a DOI, it should be included on the page for that particular article.
What if I can't find it?
There are still some journals that do not assign DOIs. For example, there is a highly cited journal called "Alcohol Research: Current Reviews" that does not use them. And there are also publishers that have not gone back and retroactively assigned DOIs to their older issues. If you are unsure whether or not you may have missed something, remember that you can always use our Ask a Librarian chat service or contact your subject librarian.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
