Citation Styles
Who Should Use Chicago Citation Style?
Chicago Style is used in both the humanities and social sciences. There are two documentation systems within Chicago Style: notes-bibliography and author-date. The notes-bibliography system is preferred by many in literature, history, and the arts. The author-date system is more precise and generally used by the physical, natural, and social sciences. Choosing which of these systems is most appropriate often depends on the subject matter and the type(s) of sources being cited.
Other Disciplines Using Chicago Style Include But Are Not Limited to:
- Business
- Library Science
- Publishing fields (such as Journalism)
How to Use This Guide
This guide is divided into several sections. The main page provides an overview of this citation style and who should use it, followed by available print and online sources for Two discuss notes-bibliography system and author-date system in more detail, including formatting tips and examples of how different resources are formatted in either system. Lastly, there is a section briefly discussing Turabian Style, which is largely similar to Chicago Style.
The Chicago Manual of Style
ASU Library has the online version of the most recent edition of The Chicago Manual of Style – the 17th edition, in addition to print copies available in libraries across the campuses. The online and print editions contain guidance in formatting your research paper, including overviews of the two systems and examples of how to cite various types of sources.
Located on the official website for Chicago Style, this online resource offers citation rules, citation examples, and other information on Chicago style and its two systems.
ASU faculty, staff, and students have access to the full content of The Chicago Manual of Style Online. This can be accessed through Library One Search by searching "Chicago Manual of Style," then clicking on "Full text available" (either from the result list or from the item record).
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by
Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
Call number: Z 253 .U69 2017ISBN: 9780226287058Publication date: 2017-09-05
| Hayden Library | Noble Library |
| Ross-Blakely Law Library |
Other Online Resources
These online sources are helpful in resolving citation style questions. However, they are not all official Chicago Style guides, but rather interpretations of the citation style and may be prone to inaccuracies. Always consult the official style manual first for the most accurate information.
Chicago Style Citation Quick Guide
Give examples about citing different source types, without having to consult the whole manual.
Purdue OWL Chicago Style Guide
Online resource from Purdue University that provides information to online reference materials and services for creating citations, formatting papers to particular styles, and more.
Citation Builder
UNC Libraries, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Documenting Sources: Chicago Style
Easy Writer Resources by Andrea Lundsford, Lunsford Handbook series
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
