Citation Styles
Who Should Use MLA Citation Style?
The Modern Language Association Style, or MLA Style, is generally used by disciplines in the humanities.
Disciplines Using MLA Style Include But Are Not Limited to:
- English
- Literature
- Art
- Philosophy
- Religion
How to Use This Guide
This guide is divided into several sections: The main page provides an overview of MLA citation style, defines who should use it, and identifies print and online sources. The additional sections discuss the basic guidelines for using MLA style 9th edition in in-text citations and the works cited list, including examples of various resources.
MLA Style Manuals
Citation styles change over time; the advent of the Internet and the increasing number at material types (e.g. web pages, e-journals etc.) have contributed to some of these changes. When using a specific citation style be sure to use a resource (e.g. style manual or website) that reflects the current edition.
MLA Handbook by
Teaching and learning MLA style is about to get easier. For nearly seventy years, the Modern Language Association has helped student writers choose trustworthy sources and use them to support their own ideas. Now, the authority on writing and research presents the clearest approach to MLA style yet with the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook. The ninth edition works as both a textbook and a reference guide. Focusing on source evaluation, it features a wealth of visual examples and updated advice on punctuation and grammar, footnotes and endnotes, annotated bibliographies, and paper formatting. An all-in-one resource that makes MLA style easier to learn and use, the MLA Handbook includes - Expanded, in-depth guidance on creating works-cited-list entries using the MLA template of core elements that explains what each core element is, where to find it in various sources, and how to style it - A new, easy-to-follow explanation of in-text citations - A new chapter containing recommendations for using inclusive language - A new appendix with hundreds of sample works-cited-list entries by publication format, including books, databases, websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more - Updated guidelines on avoiding plagiarism Although there are numerous websites, apps, reference works, and cheat sheets that claim to help with MLA style, there's only one truly authoritative resource to help your students on their paths to becoming better writers. The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is the most comprehensive guide the MLA has ever produced, with an all-inclusive approach to writing, research, documentation, and formatting.
Call number: LB2369 .M52 2021ISBN: 9781603295611Publication date: 2021-06-30
Print copies of the most current edition — the 9th edition — are available in the following ASU Library locations:
| Design Reference | Downtown Reference |
| Hayden Reference | Music Reference |
| Polytechnic Reference | Noble Reference |
| West (Fletcher) Reference | High Density Storage Collection |
To locate additional editions or unofficial style guides not published by the MLA, search the ASU Library's Catalog using a keyword search 'MLA Style'. Be careful to select a title discussing the most current edition of MLA Style.
Print copies of the previous edition — the 8th edition — are available in the following ASU Library locations:
| Downtown Reserve | Hayden Stacks |
| Law Reference | Polytechnic Reference |
| Thunderbird Reference | Thunderbird Stacks |
| West (Fletcher) Reference |
To locate additional editions or unofficial style guides not published by the MLA, search the ASU Library's Catalog using a keyword search 'MLA Style'. Be careful to select a title discussing the most current edition of MLA Style.
Online Sources for MLA Style
These online sources are helpful in resolving citation style questions or building citations. However, they are not official MLA Style guides, but rather interpretations of the citation style and may be prone to inaccuracies.
Always consult the official style manuals or resources first for the most accurate information.
MLA Style Center
Online resources that offers limited help on formatting papers and creating a works cited page, sponsored by MLA
ASU Library
Online tool from Provided by UNC Libraries, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill that helps generate MLA citations from entered information
Purdue OWL MLA Formatting and Style Guide
Online resource from Purdue University that provides information to online reference materials and services for creating citations, formatting papers to particular styles and more
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
