Citation Styles
What is Turabian Citation Style?
Turabian Style is a variation of Chicago Manual of Style that is geared for students and researchers. Like Chicago, Turabian Style is used in some disciplines within the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Additionally, like Chicago Style, Turabian Style shares the same systems: notes-bibliography and author-date.
Unlike Chicago Style's focus on guidelines for publication, Turabian Styles focuses more on the creation, formatting and submission of academic works such as theses, dissertations and research papers.
The 9th edition of Turabian Style corresponds to the 17th edition of Chicago Style, albeit with minor differences geared towards student writing.
Examples of Turabian Style
Since Turabian Style is nearly identical to Chicago Style, you can view basic guidelines and examples from notes-bibliography or author-date systems by visiting their respective tabs. You can also visit Chapters 16 and 17 of the Turabian Style Manual to see more specific examples not included in this Library Guide.
Turabian Style Guide and Other Resources
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by
When Kate L. Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today's students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, the fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations--also known as "Turabian"--remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals. This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards. While previous editions incorporated digital forms of research and writing, this edition goes even further to build information literacy, recognizing that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online and on screens. Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research. Teachers and users of the previous editions will recognize the familiar three-part structure. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago's two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material. A Manual for Writers also covers an issue familiar to writers of all levels: how to conquer the fear of tackling a major writing project. Through eight decades and millions of copies, A Manual for Writers has helped generations shape their ideas into compelling research papers. This new edition will continue to be the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines.
ISBN: 9780226494425Publication date: 2018-04-16
ASU Library has one copy of the most recent edition — the 9th edition — available for 2-hour loan at the Music Library.
Additional resources include:
- Turabian Citation Quick Guide - Sponsored by University of Chicago Press, this online guide offers examples for both notes-bibliography and author-date systems.
- Turabian Student Paper-Formatting Tip Sheets - Sponsored by University of Chicago Press, this has 14 PDF tip sheets reflecting 9th edition Turabian Style, from margins and page numbers to in-text entries and reference lists.
- UW-Madison Writer's Handbook on Chicago/Turabian Documentation - Offers overviews and examples for both note-bibliography and author-date systems, noting the differences between Chicago Style and Turabian Style.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
