Login to LibApps


Holocaust Studies: Personal Narratives & Testimonies

Testimonies and Communal Narratives

Testimonials (Audio/Video)

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum:

Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies at Yale University: A collection of over 4,300 videotaped interviews.

Jewish survivors of the Holocaust: Sound recordings, the British Library.  

Testimony Clip Viewer (from the USC Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive)

Voice/Vision Holocaust Survivor Oral History ArchiveUniversity of Michigan-Dearborn.

Voices of the Holocaust: Illinois Institute of Technology.

Audio Cassettes / Encyclopedia Americana/CBS News Resource Library


Yizkor Books (Holocaust Memorial Books)

ASU's Yizkor Books collection: Over 250 Holocaust memorial books are available at the Luhrs Reading Room (Hayden Library, 4th floor). Special Collections, local call number: SPEC JYB

JewishGen’s Yizkor Book Project: English translation for full-text of some memorial books.

New York Public Library Yizkor Book Collection: A digitized collection of 700 Yizkor books.

Yiddish Book Center: A digital library of Yiddish books, audiobooks, archival recordings, oral histories, Yizkor Books, and children's literature.

Personal Narratives

Visual History Archive (Trial Access): Includes 52,000 interviews with Holocaust survivors from 56 countries in 32 languages. Also includes testimonies from the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the 1994 Rwandan Tutsi Genocide, testimonies of the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, and the Guatamalan Genocide of 1978-1996. The trial ends on April 30, 2017.


To search for diaries and memoirs of Holocaust survivors, use ASU Library's OneSearch Advanced Search (or Advanced Search on WorldCat):

Combine the following Subject Headings: 

  • ​First row (Basic / Subject Terms): Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)
  • Second row (Advanced / Genre): Personal narratives [alternatively, you can search for "biography"].
  • Show content type: Book/eBook
  • Exclude from results: newspaper articles, book reviews, dissertations 

Remember: The subject heading "Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) Personal narratives" is used for finding library materials about diaries and memoirs (secondary literature)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


ASU Special Collections

Greenwald, Nicholas Oral History: In this oral history, Nicholas Greenwald discusses his life as a Hungarian Jew during World War II. He begins his account with a description of a typical trip to a concentration camp, recalls that his parents were killed on arrival in Auschwitz, and mentions that he was in an unidentified forced labor camp in Budapest from 1940 until October 28, 1944. The bulk of the narrative focuses on Greenwald's experiences after the prisoners were evacuated from Budapest due to advancing Allied troops and ends with his emigration to the United States in February of 1948.

Klein, Gerda Weissman and Kurt Papers: This collection consists primarily of drafts, reader correspondence, and other materials documenting Gerda Klein's All But My Life (1957). Many of the letters from readers were written by junior high and high school students who read the memoir as part of their classes. Also included are personal correspondence, biographical information, items documenting Gerda and Kurt Klein's speaking engagements, and materials showing One Survivor Remembers (a documentary about Gerda Klein's life) and other of Klein's published works.

Hours and Locations