Login to LibApps


Holocaust Studies: Find a Topic

Getting Started: Historical Overviews

The Oxford Handbook of Holocaust Studies: In-depth article overviews that include comprehensive bibliographies. Access via Oxford Handbooks Online: Religion; See also print copy.

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Encyclopedia: A multimedia web-based resource that includes articles and bibliographies, personal narratives, and primary sources such as historical film footage and photos. Keyword search box for all materials.  

The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe (2008): A comprehensive work that includes primary source materials such as documents, images, streamed audio and video, and maps. See also a print copy.

Yad Vashem Holocaust Resource Center: Alphabetical lexicon and thematically-arranged entries for topics such as the Nazi Rise to Power, Jewish Resistance, Final Solution, The Individual and the Family. Includes short introductions research articles (citation at the end), personal narratives, and primary sources such as translated documents and photos. 

US Holocaust Memorial Museum Bibliographies: Arranged by topics; ranging from materials in Spanish to Nazi language and terminology, to Darfur.


Alphabetical Lexicons

Dictionary of the Holocaust: Biography, Geography, and Terminology. Eric Joseph Epstein and Philip Rosen; foreword by Henry R. Huttenbach. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997.

The Holocaust Encyclopedia. Walter Laqueur, editor; Judith Tydor Baumel, associate editor. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2001.

Nazi-Deutsch/Nazi-German: an English lexicon of the language of the Third Reich. Robert Michael and Karin Doerr; forewords by Paul Rose, Leslie Morris, Wolfgang Mieder. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002.


Additional Encyclopedias

The Encyclopdia of the Holocaust. Israel Gutman, editor in chief. New York: Macmillan, 1990.

The Routledge Atlas of the Holocaust. Martin Gilbert. London; New York: Routledge, 2002. 

Shoʻah: Enciclopedia del Holocausto (Spanish). Robert Rozett y Shmuel Spector, (reds.); director de redacción, Efraim Zadoff; traductores, Elena Cohen Imach [et al.]. Jerusalém: E.D.Z. Nativ ediciones: Yad Vashem, 2004.

Thematic Encyclopedias: Specific Topics

Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933-1945. Bloomington, Ind.: Indiana University Press; Washington, D.C.: United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, 2009-

The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life before and during the Holocaust. Editor in chief, Shmuel Spector ; consulting editor, Geoffrey Wigoder; foreword by Elie Wiesel.  Jerusalem: Yad Vashem; New York : New York University Press, 2001.

Encyclopedia of Holocaust Literature. Edited by David Patterson, Alan L. Berger, and Sarita Cargas. Westport, Conn.; London: Oryx Press, 2002.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (search "Holocaust", or "Holocaust, 1933-1945"):

  • Encyclopaedia Judaica (2007; 2nd, latest edition): Topical overviews such as Holocaust Memory, Holocaust Responses, entries for well-known people or events. 
  • Reference Guide to Holocaust Literature (2002)

 

Holocaust Literature: an Encyclopedia of Writers and their Work. S. Lillian Kremer, editor. New York: Routledge, 2003.

Holocaust Literature: A History and Guide. Roskies, David G., and Naomi Diamant. Waltham, Mass: Brandeis University Press, 2012.

Holocaust Survivors: a Biographical Dictionary. Emily Taitz. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2007.

Hours and Locations