Holocaust Studies

The Yizkor Collection of Holocaust Memorial Books: Copy and paste "SPEC JYB" (including the quotation marks) into OneSearch for items in this distinctive collection of 250 memorial books, published by survivor communities. You can request any of them for your research at the Wurzberger Reading Room at Hayden Library (see also the New York Public Library collection guide). The Wurzberger Reading Room is by appointment only. To make an appointment, fill out the Ask and Archivist form.

Archival collections at ASU Library

Greenwald, Nicholas Oral History: In this oral history, Nicholas Greenwald discusses his life as a Hungarian Jew during World War II. He begins his account with a description of a typical trip to a concentration camp, recalls that his parents were killed on arrival in Auschwitz, and mentions that he was in an unidentified forced labor camp in Budapest from 1940 until October 28, 1944. The bulk of the narrative focuses on Greenwald's experiences after the prisoners were evacuated from Budapest due to advancing Allied troops and ends with his emigration to the United States in February of 1948.

• Gerda Weissmann and Kurt Klein Papers, 1940s-2012 (MSS-347): TThis collection consists primarily of drafts, reader correspondence, and other materials documenting Gerda Klein's All But My Life (1957). Many of the letters from readers were written by junior high and high school students who read the memoir as part of their classes. Also included are personal correspondence, biographical information, items documenting Gerda and Kurt Klein's speaking engagements, and materials showing One Survivor Remembers (a documentary about Gerda Klein's life) and other of Klein's published works.
• Yom Ha Shoah Holocaust Remembrance Service at Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic Church, Sun City West, Arizona, April 13, 1999 (streaming video). With guest speaker Magda Herzberger, author, poet, composer and Holocaust survivor. Performances: Monica Riekoff, Baruch Koritan, Arizona State University Choir.
• Psst ... ! Forain, Forain, Jean Louis, and Caran D'Ache. 1898.  An anti-Semitic French periodical. 

Research Databases & Specific Collections (Documents, Images, Audio, Video)

YIVO Digital Archive on Jewish Life in Poland: Documents, images, audio and video files documenting the Jewish community in Poland.

Collections of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee (1914-present): Records of the American Jewish community's overseas rescue, relief, and rehabilitation activities.

​DigiBaeck German-Jewish History Online (16th Century-present): Digitized collections of the Leo Baeck Institute in New York.

Judaica Europeana:  A section of European Project that's dedicated to Jewish life in European cities. Includes documents, photos, and online exhibits from libraries and museums in Europe and Israel.

Exploring the Vinius Ghetto: A digital mapping tool that uses geographical science and technology to research the Vilna Ghetto.

German History in Documents and Images, Nazi Germany: Documents, images and maps. The German Historical Institute, Washington, DC.

Internet Modern History Sourcebook: Full-text and multimedia files; check out the Selected Sources Sections (left-hand bar). Part of the Internet Modern History Sourcebook, complied by Fordham University (last updated in 1999).

Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945–1950: Primary source documents about post-war Europe and the refugees, including surveys, leaflets, reports of relief workers, US zone reports, War Office memos, Exodus Camp records, Displaced Persons Assembly Centre weekly reports and correspondence of relief organizations.

A Teachers' Guide to the Holocaust: An overview of the people and events of the Holocaust through photographs, documents, art, music, movies, and literature. The Florida Center of Instructional Technology, College of Education, University of South Florida.

Holocaust Rescue and Relief: Digitized Records of the Unitarian Universalist Service Committee: Digitized collection of an organization that aided displaced persons in Europe during and after World War II. The Andover-Harvard Theological Library.

Nazi Propaganda: 1933-1945: National Socialist propaganda documents in English translation. The German propaganda Archive, Calvin College.

To search anthologies of published sources, go to OneSearch advanced search. Type "Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- History" on the first row and adjust your search from All Fields to Subject Terms. Put "Sources" on the second row and and adjust your search to Genre. WorldCat may be searched the same way (advanced search).

The following are just a few items from our collections.

The International Military Tribunal for Germany: Contents of The Nuremberg Trials Collection. The Avalon Projects: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy. Yale University.

Nuremberg Trials Project: Scanned original documents. The Harvard Law School Library.